

## Edwin C. Whitehead Award for Medical Research Advocacy

The Edwin C. Whitehead Award for Medical Research Advocacy is Research!America's prestigious award presented to a public official. It is named after Edwin C. "Jack" Whitehead (1919-1992), who founded the Whitehead institute for Biomedical Research in 1982 and Research!America in 1989. This award recognizes exemplary leaders who have demonstrated a steadfast commitment to advancing research as a national priority.

## Past Recipients:

- 2022 Hon. Rosa DeLauro (D-CT) and Hon. Kay Granger (R-TX)
- 2021 Senator Shelly Moore Capito (R-WV) and Representative Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX)
- 2020 Senator Mike Enzi (R-WY) and Representative Anna Eshoo (D-CA)
- 2019 Senator Richard Shelby 9R-AL) and Representative Nita Lowey (D-NY)
- 2018 Senator Susan Collins (R-ME)
- 2017 Senator Lamar Alexander (R-TN)
- 2016 Senator Roy Blunt (R-MO) and Representative Tom Cole (R-OK)
- 2015 Representative Fred Upton (R-MI) and Representative Diana DeGette (D-CO)
- 2014 Representative Frank Wolf (R-VA)
- 2013 Senator Richard Burr (R-NC) and Senator Bob Casey (D-PA)
- 2012 Senator Barbara Mikulski (D-MD)
- 2011 Senator Richard Durbin (D-IL)
- 2010 Representative David R. Obey (D-WI)
- 2009 Representative Nancy Pelosi (D-CA)
- 2008 Senator Edward M. Kennedy (D-MA)
- 2007 Senator Orrin G. Hatch (R-UT)
- 2006 Representative Michael N. Castle (R-DE) & Representative Diana DeGette (D-CO)
- 2005 Representative Paul G. Rogers (D-FL)
- 2004 Representative Bob Michel (R-IL)
- 2003 Senator Connie Mack (R-FL)
- 2002 Senator Tom Harkin (D-IA)
- 2001 Senator Ted Stevens (R-AK) & Representative C. W. Bill Young (R-FL)
- 2000 Representative John Edward Porter (R-IL) & Senator Arlen Specter (R-PA)
- 1999 Senator Mark O. Hatfield (R-OR)