A distinguished panel of respected leaders in academia, voluntary health, professional societies, industry, patient advocacy and news media comprises our board of directors.

Our chair is a former Member of Congress with a track record as a true champion of health and medical research.


*=Executive Committee Member

John Edward Porter
*Hon. John Edward Porter, Chair
Partner, Hogan Lovells US LLP
U.S. Representative, 1980-2001

*Hon. Michael N. Castle, Vice Chair
Partner, DLA Piper
U.S. Representative, 1993-2011

Mary Woolley
*Mary Woolley, President
CEO, Research!America

*Larry J. Shapiro, MD, Secretary
Executive Vice Chancellor for Medical Affairs, Washington University in St. Louis

Lucinda Maine
*Lucinda Maine, PhD, RPh, Treasurer
Executive Vice President & CEO, American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy

Board Members

Tenley E. Albright
Tenley E. Albright, MD

Director and Founder, MIT Collaborative Initiatives
Visiting Scientist, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Lecturer in the Program of Surgery, Harvard Medical School

Hortensia Amaro, PhD
Hortensia Amaro, PhD

Associate Vice Provost for Community Research Initiatives and Dean's Professor of Social Work and Preventive Medicine, University of Southern California

Georges C. Benjamin
Georges C. Benjamin, MD
Executive Director, American Public Health Association

Nancy Brown
*Nancy Brown
Chief Executive Officer, American Heart Association

Susan Dentzer
Susan Dentzer
Senior Health Policy Adviser, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

*Victor J. Dzau, MD
President, Institute of Medicine

Joseph Feczko, MD
Joseph M. Feczko, MD

Jay Gershen
*Jay A. Gershen, DDS, PhD
President, Northeast Ohio Medical University

*William N. Hait, MD, PhD
Global Head, Janssen Research& Development, LLC

Larry Hausner, MBA
Larry Hausner, MBA

Mary J.C. Hendrix

Mary J.C. Hendrix, PhD
President and Scientific Director,
Stanley Manne Children's Research Institute

Martha N. Hill

Martha N. Hill, PhD, RN, FAAN
Dean Emerita; Professor of Nursing, Medicine & Public Health
The Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing

*Harry Johns
President and Chief Executive Officer, Alzheimer's Association

Evan Jones
Evan Jones
Managing Member, jVen Capital

Elizabeth Baker Keffer
Elizabeth Baker Keffer
Managing Director and Chief Network Officer, BDT Capital Partners

Hon. Patrick Kennedy
U.S. Representative, 1995-2011
Co-Chair, One Mind for Research
Founder, Kennedy Forum

Debra R. Lappin
Debra R. Lappin, JD

Principal, FaegreBD Consulting

Alan I. Leshner
*Alan I. Leshner, PhD
CEO Emeritus, American Association for the Advancement of Science

James Madara, MD
James Madara, MD
Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer, American Medical Association

Mark McClellan
Mark McClellan, MD, PhD, MPA

Senior Fellow
Director, Initiative on Value and Innovation in Health Care

The Honorable Kweisi Mfume
Hon. Kweisi Mfume
U.S. Representative, 1987-1996

Herbert Pardes
*Herbert Pardes, MD
Executive Vice Chairman, Board of Trustees, NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital

Sudip Parikh, PhD
*Sudip S. Parikh, PhD
Vice President & General Manager, Health & Analytics, Battelle

E. Albert Reece, MD, PhD, MBA
E. Albert Reece, MD, PhD, MBA
Vice President for Medical Affairs, University of Maryland
John Z. and Akiko K. Bowers Distinguished Professor and Dean, University of Maryland School of Medicine

Amy Comstock Rick, JD
*Amy Comstock Rick, JD
President and CEO, Food and Drug Law Institute

John R. Seffrin
John R. Seffrin, PhD

Chief Executive Officer, American Cancer Society

Laing Rogers Sisto
Laing Rogers Sisto
Community Leader

Gregory Sorensen, MD
Gregory Sorensen, MD
Chief Executive Officer, Siemens Healthcare North America

*Jack T. Watters, MD
Vice President for External Medical Affairs, Pfizer Inc

*Keith Yamamoto, PhD
Vice Chancellor for Research, University of California, San Francisco

Elias Zerhouni
Elias A. Zerhouni, MD
President, Global Research & Development, Sanofi

Emeritus Directors

William G. Anlyan, MD
Dennis A. Ausiello, MD
Kenneth I. Berns, MD, PhD
William R. Brinkley, PhD
Roger J. Bulger, MD
G. Steven Burrill
Gail H. Cassell, PhD
Wendy Chaite, Esq.
Jordan J. Cohen, MD
Sam Donaldson 
Robert Dresing
Eugene Garfield, PhD
Myron Genel, MD
Irma E. Goertzen
M.R.C. Greenwood, PhD
Elmer E. Huerta, MD, MPH
Robert A. Ingram
Jackie Lovelace Johnson
Caroline A. Kovac, PhD
Philip R. Lee, MD
Ellen Levine
Constance E. Lieber
John P. Margaritis
Jewell Jackson McCabe
Catherine E. McDermott
Donnica L. Moore, MD
James E. Mulvihill, DMD
Elizabeth G. Nabel, MD
William D. Novelli
William A. Peck, MD
Edward E. Penhoet, PhD
William L. Roper, MD, MPH
Leon E. Rosenberg, MD
Isadore Rosenfeld, MD
Raymond R. Sackler, MD
Charles A. Sanders, MD
Mitchel Sayare, PhD
Carol R. Scheman
M. Roy Schwarz, MD
Susan C. Scrimshaw, PhD
Randolph Siegel 
Samuel C. Silverstein, MD
Hon. Louis Stokes
Hon. Louis W. Sullivan, MD
Hon. Billy Tauzin
Reed V. Tuckson, MD
Christopher A. Viehbacher
Alan G. Walton, DSc, PhD
M. Cass Wheeler
John Whitehead
Ruth Wooden
Judy Woodruff
James B. Wyngaarden, MD

Related Resources

Scientific Advisory Council
Our programs and projects are informed by distinguished advisory committees made up of leaders in research, public health, basic science and public policy.

About Us
Research!America is the nation's largest not-for-profit public education and advocacy alliance working to make research to improve health a higher national priority.

Research!America Leadership & Staff
We are willing to work with you on your efforts to advocate for research to improve health.

Speeches & Articles
Our leadership and board members regularly speek out on the need to advocate for more federal funding for health research.

Become a Member/Donate
Join our members that together represent more than 125 million Americans.

Join our e-Advocacy network or stay up-to-date with our news and publications.