Board of Directors and Officers

A distinguished panel of respected leaders in academia, voluntary health, professional societies, industry, patient advocacy and news media comprises our board of directors.

Our chair is a former Member of Congress with a track record as a true champion of health and medical research.


*=Executive Committee Member

U.S. Representative, 1993-2011

Director, Health Policy Research Consortium; Chief Health Equity Officer, Capital Technologies Informatics System
U.S. Representative, 1987-1996

CEO, Research!America

Executive Vice President for Medical Affairs, University of Maryland
John Z. and Akiko K. Bowers Distinguished Professor and Dean, University of Maryland School of Medicine 

Senior Vice President & Managing Director, DIA Americas

Board Members

Chief Executive Officer, American Heart Association

Partner, K&L Gates LLP
U.S. Representative, 1985-2011

President, ConStrat

U.S. Representative, 1999-2015

Partner and Chief Network Officer, BDT & Company

Chief Executive Officer and Executive Vice President, American Medical Association

Director, Robert J. Margolis, MD, Center for Health Policy, Duke University
Former Administrator, CMS, 2004-2006
Former Commissioner, FDA, 2002-2004

Executive Vice Chairman, Board of Trustees, NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital

Executive Vice President and Chancellor for Health Affairs, The Ohio State University

Dean, Graduate School; Leonard M. Miller Professor of Public Health Sciences; Director, Division of Prevention Science and Community Health, Miller School of Medicine; University of Miami

Chief Executive Officer, American Cancer Society

Community Leader

Executive Chairman, IMRIS

Professor Emeritus; Vice Chancellor for Science Policy and Strategy; Director, UCSF Precision Medicine; University of California, San Francisco

Former Director, National Institues of Health, 2002-2008

Chair Emeritus

U.S. Representative, 1980-2001

Emeritus Directors

Hortensia Amaro, PhD
Dennis A. Ausiello, MD
Kenneth I. Berns, MD, PhD
William R. Brinkley, PhD
Roger J. Bulger, MD
G. Steven Burrill
Gail H. Cassell, PhD
Wendy Chaite, Esq.
Jordan J. Cohen, MD
Sam Donaldson 
Robert K. Dresing
Joseph M. Feczko, MD
Myron Genel, MD
Irma E. Goertzen
M.R.C. Greenwood, PhD
Elmer E. Huerta, MD, MPH
Robert A. Ingram
Harry Johns
Jackie Lovelace Johnson
Evan Jones
The Honorable Patrick J. Kennedy
Caroline A. Kovac, PhD
Philip R. Lee, MD
Ellen Levine
John P. Margaritis
Jewell Jackson McCabe
Catherine E. McDermott
Donnica L. Moore, MD
James E. Mulvihill, DMD
Elizabeth G. Nabel, MD
William D. Novelli
William A. Peck, MD
Edward E. Penhoet, PhD
William L. Roper, MD, MPH
Leon E. Rosenberg, MD
Charles A. Sanders, MD
Mitchel Sayare, PhD
Carol R. Scheman
M. Roy Schwarz, MD
Susan C. Scrimshaw, PhD
John R. Seffrin, PhD
Randolph Siegel 
Samuel C. Silverstein, MD
The Honorable Louis W. Sullivan, MD
The Honorable Billy Tauzin
Reed V. Tuckson, MD
Christopher A. Viehbacher
M. Cass Wheeler
John Whitehead
Ruth A. Wooden
Judy Woodruff


Executive Vice President and 
Chief Operating Officer
You can change the image of things to come. But you can’t do it sitting on your hands … The science community should reach out to Congress and build bridges.
The Honorable John E. Porter