Nominations Open for the 2017 National Medals of Science and Technology

Izzy Okparanta

Nominations are now open for the National Medal of Science and the National Medal of Technology and Innovation, awards that pay tribute to top scientists and innovators from a variety of fields including medicine, communications, computer science, and chemistry.

The National Medal of Science, established in 1959, is presented each year by the President of the United States to honor the nation’s preeminent scientists and engineers, including social and behavioral scientists.

The National Medal of Technology and Innovation was established in 1980 to recognize individuals, teams, companies or divisions of companies for their economic, environmental and social contributions that continue to help America maintain its position as a world technological and economic leader.

Recent National Medal of Science recipients include Shirley Ann Jackson for Physical Sciences and Mary-Claire King for Biological Sciences. Recent National Medal of Technology and Innovation recipients include Chenming Hu for Electronics and Arthur Gossard for Physics. To view other honorees, visit the National Science and Technology Medals Foundation online.

National Medal of Science nominations can be submitted via the National Science Foundation website, and recommendations for the National Medal of Technology and Innovation can be submitted here. The deadline for both is April 7, 2017.

Izzy Okparanta is Research!America’s Senior Communications Specialist

Add comment

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Adds node titles to internal links found in content (as HTML "title" attribute).
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Without research, there is no hope.
The Honorable Paul G. Rogers