2006 Advocacy Awards Gala Honorary Chairs

David A. Asch, MD

Leonard Davis Institute of Health Economics

ArdenBement, Jr., PhD

Barbara A. Blakeney, MS, RN

American Nurses Association

James Buckle

Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation, Rocky Mountain Chapter

Vice Admiral Richard H. Carmona, MD, MPH

U.S. Surgeon General

Carolyn M. Clancy, MD

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality

William S. Dalton, MD, PhD

H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center & Research Institute

Karen Davis, PhD

The Commonwealth Fund

Senator Mike DeWine

The Honorable Bob Dole

Senator Pete V. Domenici

Arnold W. Donald

Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation International

George S. Eisenbarth, MD, PhD

Barbara Davis Center for Childhood Diabetes

University of Colorado Health Sciences Center

Julie L. Gerberding, MD, MPH,

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Morton Goldberg, MD

National Neurovision Research Institute

Robert J. Gould, PhD

Porter Novelli

Brian Griese

Judith Ann Griese Foundation

Congressman Rush Holt

James R. Houghton

Corning, International

Joseph H. Kanter

Kanter Family Foundation

Lee Kravitz


Alan M. Laties, MD

The Foundation Fighting Blindness

Senator Frank R. Lautenberg

Alan I. Leshner, PhD

American Association for the Advancement of Science

Executive Publisher, Science

Ray Levit, MD

American Retina Foundation

Congressman Jerry Lewis

The Honorable Connie Mack

H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center

Mark B. McClellan, MD, PhD

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, HHS

Peter J. McDonnell, MD

The Wilmer Eye Institute

Afaf I. Meleis, PhD

University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing

Arnold Palmer

Congressman Steve Pearce

Eric Pierce, MD, PhD

Scheie Eye Institute

Congressman Ralph Regula

Bill Richardson

Governor of New Mexico

Cokie Roberts

ABC News

Stephen J. Ryan, MD

National Alliance for Eye and Vision Research

Richard Salem

Enable America

General H. Norman Schwarzkopf

John R. Seffrin, PhD

American Cancer Society

Congressman Pete Sessions

Randy Siegel


Larry J. Takemoto, PhD

Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology

Mary C. Tydings

Russell Reynolds Associates

Andrew C. von Eschenbach, MD

M. Cass Wheeler

American Heart Association

Miles D. White


Judy Woodruff

Congressman C. W. Bill Young

Elias Zerhouni, MD

National Institutes of Health

Media Contacts

Robert Shalett
Director of Communications 

America’s economic destiny lies in innovation, technology, science and research.
The Honorable John E. Porter