2007 Advocacy Awards

11th Annual Advocacy Awards Gala Honorary Chairs


Christopher A. Viehbacher

President, U.S. Pharmaceuticals


Mary J.C. Hendrix, PhD

President and Scientific Director

Children's Memorial Research Center

Media Host

Randy Siegel


PARADE magazine

George B. Abercrombie

President and Chief Executive Officer


Joanne Angle

Executive Director

Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology

Dennis A. Ausiello, MD

Physician-in-Chief, Medical Service

Massachusetts General Hospital Department of Medicine

Arden J. Bement, Jr., PhD

Henry S. Bienen, PhD


Northwestern University

David Bunning


The Food Allergy Project, Inc.

Carolyn Clancy, MD


Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality

Richard T. Clark

Chief Executive Officer and President

Merck & Co., Inc.

Mary Sue Coleman, PhD


University of Michigan

The Honorable Diana DeGette

Sam Donaldson

ABC News Television Network

The Honorable Rahm Emanuel

Robert Essner

Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer


Joseph M. Feczko, MD

Chief Medical Officer

Pfizer Inc

James W. Fordyce


Albert & Mary Lasker Foundation

Julie L. Gerberding, MD, MPH


Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Barbara A. Gordon

Executive Officer

American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

J. Warren Gorrell, Jr.


Hogan & Hartson, LLP

Vartan Gregorian


Carnegie Corporation of New York

Jessie Gruman, PhD


Center for the Advancement of Health

Fred Hassan

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer


Yoshihiko Hatanaka

President and Chief Executive Officer

Astellas Pharma US Inc.

Anthony C. Hooper

President, U.S. Pharmaceuticals

Bristol-Myers Squibb Company

Neen Hunt, EdD


Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation

Scott Hunt

Executive Director

The Endocrine Society

The Honorable Jon Huntsman, Jr.

Jon and Karen Huntsman

The Honorable Kay Bailey Hutchison

Robert A. Ingram

Vice Chairman, Pharmaceuticals


The Honorable Johnny Isakson

The Honorable Jesse Jackson, Jr.

Evan Jones

Chairman of the Board

Digene Corp.

James Jorkasky

Executive Director

National Alliance for Eye and Vision Research

Darrell G. Kirch, MD


Association of American Medical Colleges

Lee Kravitz



Constance E. Lieber


National Alliance for Research on Schizophrenia and Depression

The Honorable Nita M. Lowey

Patrick Magoon

President and Chief Executive Officer

Children's Memorial Research Center

Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Joseph B. Martin, MD, PhD

Dean, Faculty of Medicine,

Harvard Medical School

The Honorable Jim Matheson

Mark McClellan, MD, PhD

Senior Fellow

AEI-Brookings Joint Center for Regulatory Studies

Edward D. Miller, MD

Dean of the Medical Faculty and Chief Executive Officer

Johns Hopkins Medicine,

The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Rear Admiral Ken Moritsugu

Acting Surgeon General of the United States

William D. Novelli

Chief Executive Officer


The Honorable Barack Obama

William A. Peck, MD


Washington University in St. Louis

Center for Health Policy

The Honorable John Edward Porter

Chair, Research!America

Partner, Hogan & Hartson LLP

Jean E. Robillard, MD

Vice President for Medical Affairs

University of Iowa, The University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine

Timothy Rothwell

President and Chief Executive Officer,

sanofi-aventis U.S.

John R. Seffrin, PhD

Chief Executive Officer

American Cancer Society

Larry J. Shapiro, MD

Executive Vice Chancellor for Medical Affairs and Dean

Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine

Susan L. Solomon

Chief Executive Officer

The New York Stem Cell Foundation

The Honorable Arlen Specter

Timothy C. Tyson

President and Chief Executive Officer

Valeant Pharmaceuticals International

David Van Andel

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

Van Andel Institute

William C. Weldon

Chairman, Board of Directors, and Chief Executive Officer

Johnson & Johnson

M. Cass Wheeler

Chief Executive Officer

American Heart Association

Miles D. White

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer


Kern Wildenthal, MD, PhD


The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Judy Woodruff

Senior Correspondent and Political Editor

The NewsHour with Jim Lehrer

Elias Zerhouni, MD


National Institutes of Health

Anthony P. Zook

President and Chief Executive Officer

AstraZeneca US

Media Contacts

Suzanne Ffolkes
VP Communications

Anna Briseño
Senior Manager of Communications

If concerted, long-term investments in research are not made, America will lose an entire generation of young scientists.
Brenda Canine, PhD; McLaughlin Research Institute, Montana