Advocacy Awards

The AWards

Nominations are now open for Research!America’s 2023 Advocacy Awards!  
The annual Advocacy Awards were established in 1996 to honor outstanding advocates for medical, health and scientific research. The awards recognize individuals and organizations whose commitment to advocacy for research and innovation has advanced medical and public health progress in profoundly important ways.  
Please see below for a full description of the 2023 awards. The deadline for nominations is Thursday, June 30, 2022. 
Wondering about past winners and events?  
Please check out the list of our past Advocacy Award awardees. Please see highlights of the 2022 Advocacy Awards Program.


Nominations should include: 

  1. Examples of accomplishments that demonstrate why the nominee is deserving of this award 
  2.  A link to a brief biography of the nominee (please, no CVs) 
  3. Contact information for the nominator including: Full name, title and organization affiliation (if any), mailing address, phone number, email, secondary contact/support person's information 
  4. To the extent possible, contact information for the nominee, including: title and organization affiliation (if any), mailing address, phone number, email, secondary contact/support person's information (to facilitate logistics) 

Should you have questions about the nominations process, please contact us at


The Gordon and Llura Gund Leadership Award honors individuals who have made a significant contribution to increasing the level of advocacy for medical, public health or other health-related research in their communities or on the local, state, or national level. 

2022—Jed Manocherian
2020—Mary Fogarty McAndrew
2019—Denny Sanford

Review past Gordon and Llura Gund Leadership Award awardees.

The Geoffrey Beene Foundation Builders of Science Award recognizes those who have provided inspiration and determination in building an outstanding home for research. Eligible candidates for the award are distinguished medical, health, and scientific research administrators, scientists, and other leaders who have demonstrated their commitment to advocacy for research by building an outstanding scientific research institution. Individuals who have substantially revitalized an existing institution are also eligible. 

2022— France A. Córdova, PhD
2020—Myron M. Levine, MD, DTPH; Gary J. Nabel, MD, PhD; and Paul A. Offit, MD
2019—Susan Hockfield, PhD

Review past Geoffrey Beene Builders of Science Award awardees.


The Isadore Rosenfeld Award for Impact on Public Opinion is presented annually to a news media representative or other influential individual who has been extraordinarily effective in delivering medical, public health, or other health-related research advocacy messages to the public. 

2022—Walter Isaacson
2020—Renée Fleming
2019—Siddhartha Mukherjee, MD, DPhil

Review past Isadore Rosenfeld Award for Impact on Public Opinion awardees.


The Herbert Pardes Family Award for National Leadership in Advocacy for Research recognizes individuals who have demonstrated distinguished leadership and sustained commitment to public engagement and advocacy for research. Individuals selected for this honor will be those who are highly regarded for their ability to communicate the value of research and innovation to a broad array of audiences, and who, by their example and active encouragement, have inspired others to do so. 

2022—Neal F. Lane, PhD
2020—Michael M.E. Johns, MD
2019—David R. Williams, PhD



The Outstanding Achievement in Public Health Awards, Supported by Johnson & Johnson.

The Outstanding Achievement in Public Health Award recognizes an individual for their extraordinary work and enormous contributions to public health.

2022—Matthew Myers, Bill Novelli, and Vivian W. Pinn, MD
2021—Anthony S. Fauci, MD

The Building the Foundation Award recognizes one or more individuals whose basic research discoveries have played a pivotal role in advancing public health. 

2022— Christopher Murray, MD, DPhil
2021—Katalin Karikó, PhD, and Drew Weissman, MD, PhD

The Rapid Translation Award honors a public-private partnership that has made a critical contribution to public health progress. 

2022— Accelerating COVID-19 Therapeutic Interventions and Vaccines (ACTIV)
2021—National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) and Moderna

The Meeting the Moment for Public Health Award recognizes an individual or organization that has been a “clear voice,” playing a key role in communicating important public health information to the public.

2022—Ashish K. Jha, MD, MPH
2021—Johns Hopkins Coronavirus Resource Center and Michigan Coronavirus Task Force on Racial Disparities

Board selected awards:


The Edwin C. Whitehead Award for Medical Research Advocacy recognizes exemplary leaders, particularly those in public office, who have shown a long-standing commitment to advancing health research as a national priority and who galvanize others in support of science policy and funding. This award is selected by the Board of Directors.

2021—Hon. Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV) and Hon. Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX)
2020—Hon. Mike B. Enzi (R-WY) (deceased) and Hon. Anna G. Eshoo (D-CA) 
2019—Hon. Richard C. Shelby (R-AL) and Hon. Nita M. Lowey (D-NY)      


JOHN EDWARD PORTER LEGACY AWARD, Generously supported by Ann Lurie

The John Edward Porter Legacy Award, generously supported by Ann Lurie, is awarded to individuals who show outstanding commitment to sustaining the nation’s world-class leadership in medical and health research. This award is selected by the Board of Directors.

2021—Francis Collins, MD, PhD
2020—Bruce M. Alberts, PhD
2019—Hon. Louis W. Sullivan, MD  

ABOut the nominations process: 

The Selection Committee consists of members of the Research!America Board of Directors. While we encourage nominations to a specific award category, the Selection Committee reserves the right to determine the best category. At the discretion of the Selection Committee, some award categories may not be fulfilled in a given year. Members of the Research!America Board of Directors are not eligible for nomination in any category. Emeritus Directors are eligible for nomination based upon the criteria outlined above.
For additional information, contact Research!America at

Media Contacts

Tim Haynes
Senior Director of Communications 

Without continued support for health research, many of the most promising young scientists, their ideas and a myriad of potentially life-changing scientific breakthroughs will vanish into oblivion.
Paul Marinec, PhD; University of California San Francisco