2003 Advocacy Awards

2003 Advocacy Awards

Research!America 7th Annual Advocacy Awards Gala
March 18, 2003

Host Benefactor

PARADE magazine

Thank You to Our 2003 Gala Sponsors
2003 Advocacy Award Honorary Chairs

2003 Award Recipients

The Legacy Award
President George W. Bush

Edwin C. Whitehead Award for Medical Research Advocacy
The Honorable Connie Mack
Award benefactor: Whitehead Charitable Foundation

Isadore Rosenfeld Award for Impact on Public Opinion
Michael J. Fox
The Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson's Research
Award benefactor: Rosenfeld Heart Foundation

Sustained Leadership at the National Level
Paul Berg, PhD
Robert and Vivian Cahill Professor of Cancer Research and Biochemistry, Emeritus
Director, Beckman Center for Molecular and Genetic Medicine, Emeritus
Stanford University Medical Center

Exceptional Contributions as a Volunteer Advocate for Medical
or Other Health-Related Research

Wendy Chaite, Esq.
Lymphatic Research Foundation

Organization that has Distinguished Itself by Its Advocacy
American Society for Cell Biology

The annual Research!America Advocacy Awards program was established in 1996 by the board of directors to honor outstanding advocates for medical, health and scientific research. Recognized individuals and organizations are those whose leadership efforts have been notably effective in advancing our nation's commitment to research.

Contact us information about advocacy awards prior to 2003.

Media Contacts

Tim Haynes
Senior Director of Communications 

Without continued support for health research, many of the most promising young scientists, their ideas and a myriad of potentially life-changing scientific breakthroughs will vanish into oblivion.
Paul Marinec, PhD; University of California San Francisco