2012 Advocacy Awards

2012 Advocacy Awards

Advocacy Awards Dinner
March14, 2012
Washington, DC

Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium

The annual Research!America Advocacy Awards program was established in 1996 by the board of directors to honor outstanding advocates for medical, health and scientific research. Recognized individuals and organizations are those whose leadership efforts have been notably effective in advancing our nation's commitment to research.


We Thank Our Corporate Host

Johnson & Johnson


Honorary Chairs

Click here to see our honorary chairs for the 2012 Advocacy Awards.

Click here to view photos and highlights from the 2012 event.

2012 Advocacy Award Winners and Benefactors

Edwin C. Whitehead Award for Medical Research Advocacy

Co-Benefactors: Whitehead Charitable Foundation and Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research
Pictured: Edwin C. Whitehead

2012 Recipient:

Sen. Barbara A. MikulskiSen. Barbara A. Mikulski will be recognized for her longstanding leadership and support for medical research, public health and prevention, regulatory science, the physical sciences and her support for research as a force for economic competitiveness.

Isadore Rosenfeld Award for Impact on Public Opinion

Benefactor: Rosenfeld Heart Foundation
Pictured: Isadore Rosenfeld, MD

2012 Recipient:

Sanjay Gupta, MDSanjay Gupta, MD, the Emmy-Award winning chief medical correspondent for CNN, will be honored for bringing to light the importance of medical and health research and adding clarity and context to health-related issues through his reporting on health and medical news.

Raymond and Beverly Sackler Award for Sustained National Leadership

Benefactors: Raymond R. Sackler, MD, and Beverly Sackler

2012 Recipient:

Margaret Foti, PhD, MD (h.c.)Margaret Foti, PhD, MD (h.c.), CEO of the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR), will be honored for carving out a leadership role for AACR in the science policy arena and for her effective advocacy for federal research funding in her notable tenure as the CEO of AACR.

Paul G. Rogers Distinguished Organization Advocacy Award

Benefactor: HoganLovells USLLP

2012 Recipient:

Food Allergy InitiativeThe Food Allergy Initiative (FAI) will be honored for its pioneering role in advancing food allergy research, including successful advocacy campaigns that have led to a significant increase in federal research funding and to federal and local legislation that creates safer environments for people with food allergies.

Gordon and Llura Gund Leadership Award

Benefactors: Gordon and Llura Gund Foundation

2012 Recipient:

Scott JohnsonScott Johnson, president and founder of the Myelin Repair Foundation, willbe honoredfor his leadership in founding MRF, for implementing a new model at MRF to more rapidly deliver treatments to patients with chronic diseases, and for raising the visibility of research for neurological diseases.

Geoffrey Beene Builders of Science Award

Benefactor: The Geoffrey Beene Foundation

2012 Recipient:

Donald Lindberg, MDDonald Lindberg, MD, director of the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and former director of the White House High Performance Computing and Communications (HPCC) Program, will be honored for pioneering the application of computer technology to medicine which has revolutionized healthcare.

G. Thompson Hutton and Mara Hutton

G. Thompson Hutton
and Mara Hutton

2012 Advocacy Award Winners and Benefactors

Corporate Sponsor

Johnson & Johnson


Grand Reception Host

Pfizer, Inc.


Presenting Partner

The Johns Hopkins University


UnitedHealth Group

Program Partner

American Medical Association



Lilly USA *





Abbott Laboratories


The Lurie Foundation


Mayo Clinic

Staglin Family Vineyard


Alzheimer's Association



American Association of Cancer Research


Duke University Health System

Emergent BioSolutions





Brigham & Women's Hospital



Mylan Specialties


Northeast Ohio Medical University


University of California, Los Angeles

University of California, San Francisco

University of Maryland Medical School


Weill Cornell Medical College




Allen Institute for Brain Science

American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy

American Cancer Society

American Heart Association

Association of American Cancer Institutes


Baylor Research Advocates for Student Scientists

Constellation Energy

Cryer Health/Vitality Communications

Endo Pharmaceuticals

Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Evan Jones

The Leukemia& Lymphoma Society

March of DimesFoundation

Mary J.C. Hendrix, PhDand Chuck Craft

Myelin Repair Foundation

NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital

Stanford University School of Medicine

Van Andel Research Institute

Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine

Media Contacts

Tim Haynes
Senior Director of Communications 

You can change the image of things to come. But you can’t do it sitting on your hands … The science community should reach out to Congress and build bridges.
The Honorable John E. Porter