2021 Advocacy Awards Call for Nominations

2021 Nominations will be coming soon.


Please join us on Wednesday, March 10, 2021 for our Annual Advocacy Awards Dinner. The annual Research!America Advocacy Awards program was established in 1996 by the Board of Directors to honor outstanding advocates for medical, public health and scientific research*. We recognize individuals and organizations whose leadership efforts have been notably effective in advancing our nation's commitment to research. A list of our past Advocacy Award awardees is available here

*For the purposes of these awards, the term medical, health and scientific research includes all of the following: basic, behavioral, biotech, clinical, global health, health services, prevention and public health, therapeutic, and translational research.


Check back soon for more information on how to submit a nomination. For additional information, contact Research!America at nominations@researchamerica.org(link sends e-mail).


The Herbert Pardes Family Award for National Leadership in Advocacy for Research, established by the Research!America Board of Directors in 2018, recognizes individuals who, throughout their careers have - like Dr. Pardes – demonstrated distinguished leadership and sustained commitment to public engagement and advocacy for research.  Individuals selected for this honor will be those who are highly regarded for their ability to communicate the value of research and innovation to a broad array of audiences, and who, by dint of their example and active encouragement, have inspired others to do so.

2020—Michael M.E. Johns, MD
2019—David R. Williams, PhD

Benefactor: Rosenfeld Heart Foundation

The Isadore Rosenfeld Award for Impact on Public Opinion is presented annually to a news media representative or citizen who has worked effectively to deliver medical, public health or other health-related research advocacy messages to the public. 

2020—Renée Fleming 
2019—Siddhartha Mukherjee, MD, DPhil
2018—Atul Gawande, MD, MPH
2017—Kathy Bates
2016—Lisa Paulsen and The Entertainment Industry Foundation
2015—Robin Roberts

Review past Isadore Rosenfeld Award for Impact on Public Opinion awardees.

Benefactor: Gordon and Llura Gund Foundation

The Gordon and Llura Gund Leadership Award honors individuals who have made a significant contribution to increasing the level of advocacy for medical, public health or other health-related research in their communities or on a state or national level.

2020—Mary Fogarty McAndrew
2019—Denny Sanford
2018—Shari and Garen Staglin
2017—Joseph Biden
2016—George and Trish Vradenburg
2015—Michael Milken

Review past Gordon and Llura Gund Leadership Award awardees.


Benefactor: Geoffrey Beene Foundation; pictured G. Thompson Hutton, Esq., and Mara Hutton

The Geoffrey Beene Foundation Builders of Science Award recognizes those who have provided inspiration and determination in building an outstanding home for research. Eligible candidates for the award are distinguished medical, health and scientific research administrators, scientists and other leaders who have demonstrated their commitment to and advocacy for research by building an outstanding scientific research institution.  Individuals who have substantially revitalized an existing institution are also eligible.

2020—Myron M. Levine, MD, DTPH; Paul A. Offit, MD; Gary J. Nabel, MD, PhD
2019—Susan Hockfield, PhD
2018—Roger I. Glass, MD, PhD
2017—Leland H. Hartwell, PhD
2016—John Noseworthy, MD
2015—David Van Andel and George Vande Woude, PhD

Review past Geoffrey Beene Foundation Builders of Science Award awardees.

Benefactor: Rogers Family Foundation

The Paul G. Rogers Distinguished Organization Advocacy Award honors any organization or institution that is widely recognized as a strong advocate for medical, public health or other health-related research in the U.S. or globally.

2020—The National Multiple Sclerosis Society
2019—The Cystic Fibrosis Foundation
2018—EveryLife Foundation for Rare Diseases
2017—The Lupus Foundation of America
2016—The ALS Association
2015—Society for Neuroscience

Review past Paul G. Rogers Distinguished Organization Advocacy Award awardees.



The Advocacy Awards Selection Committee will review all nominations. The Selection Committee consists of members of the Research!America Board of Directors and other outstanding advocates for research. While we encourage nominations to a specific award category, the Selection Committee reserves the right to determine the best category. At the discretion of the Selection Committee, some award categories may not be fulfilled in a given year.



Generously supported by Ann Lurie

Nominees are not accepted by the Advocacy Awards Selection Committee, as those nominees are selected by the Research!America Board of Directors. Please do not nominate a sitting or past Member of Congress for an Advocacy Award.

Members of the Research!America Board of Directors are not eligible for nomination in any category. Emeritus Directors are eligible for nomination based upon the criteria outlined above.




Media Contacts

Robert Shalett
Director of Communications 

Without continued support for health research, many of the most promising young scientists, their ideas and a myriad of potentially life-changing scientific breakthroughs will vanish into oblivion.
Paul Marinec, PhD; University of California San Francisco