House Speaker Nancy Pelosi Receives Research!America Advocacy Award

Edwin C. Whitehead Award for Medical Research Advocacy

PelosiWASHINGTON—March 24, 2009—The Honorable Nancy Pelosi, Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives, will receive Research!America's 2009 Edwin C. Whitehead Award for Medical Research Advocacy. The award recognizes her extraordinary leadership on science-related issues and her steadfast support of research funding, including funding for embryonic stem cell research.

Pelosi will be honored tonight at the 13th Annual Research!America Advocacy Awards event at the Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium in Washington, DC.

Pelosi was a supporter of the inclusion of strong research funding in the recent economic recovery bill, the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, which included $10 billion for the National Institutes of Health. In 2007, she was a strong supporter of the Stem Cell Research Enhancement Act to expand federal funding for embryonic stem cell research and the America COMPETES Act to boost funding for science and science education.

Pelosi has been the Speaker of the House of Representatives since 2007 and the representative of California's 8th Congressional District since 1987. She was the House Minority Leader from 2003 to 2006 and the House Minority Whip in 2002. Pelosi has built an impressive record of accomplishment in science, research and energy legislation.

The award benefactor is the Whitehead Charitable Foundation. Edwin C. Whitehead (1919-1992) worked to further medical research with the founding of the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research in 1982 and the founding of Research!America in 1989. His lifelong commitment to medical research continues today through the efforts of his children-Susan, John and Peter-and their work with the Whitehead Institute, Research!America and other organizations.

Other 2009 Research!America Advocacy Award winners are Senator Arlen Specter; former Surgeon General C. Everett Koop, MD, ScD; Nobel Laureate David Baltimore, PhD; Stowers Institute founders James E. Stowers Jr. and Virginia G. Stowers; ABC News anchor Bob Woodruff; and the Genetic Alliance.

Research!America is the nation's largest not-for-profit public education and advocacy alliance working to make research to improve health a higher national priority. The 2009 Advocacy Awards represent Research!America's 13th year of recognizing the accomplishments of leading advocates for medical and health research. For more information, visit:

Media Contacts

Tim Haynes
Senior Director of Communications 

Public sentiment is everything. With public sentiment, nothing can fail; without it nothing can succeed.
Abraham Lincoln