Garfield Award 2004

Garfield Award 2004

The Value of Reductions in Child Injury Mortality in the U.S.
 Garfield Winner 2004
Jordan Cohen, MD; Sherry A.M. Glied, PhD; Eugene Garfield, PhD


Columbia Professor Sherry A.M. Glied, PhD, received the 2004 Eugene Garfield Economic Impact of Medical and Health Research award. Glied is professor and chair of the Department of Health Policy and Management at Columbia University, Mailman School of Public Health.

Glied received the Garfield Award for her paper "The Value of Reductions in Child Injury Mortality in the U.S." on October 19 in Washington, DC, during an award reception held in her honor. Former U.S. Surgeon General C. Everett Koop, MD, ScD, founding chairman, National SAFE KIDS Campaign, and senior scholar, C. Everett Koop Institute, gave remarks.

Glied's work, which appears in Chapter 13 of Medical Care Output and Productivity edited by David M. Cutler, PhD, and Ernst R. Berndt, PhD, investigates alternative explanations for the steady decline of child injury mortality rates and evaluates their value. Her findings show that there is substantial evidence to suggest that parents' access to child health-related scientific information is increasingly important, and that the development of scientific information-a public good-is translated into private outcomes.

The Eugene Garfield Economic Impact of Medical and Health Research award is named for and sponsored by the creator of the Science Citation Index, Eugene Garfield, PhD, president and editor-in-chief of The Scientist, Research!America board member and a strong advocate of preventive medicine and life sciences research. The Science Citation Index permits a researcher to link to all citations around a central idea from a single reference named in a study and has become an indispensable tool used by scientists across many research disciplines.

Leaders in medicine, health and economics selected Glied as the recipient of the 2004 Garfield award. They included: Jordan Cohen, MD, president, Association of American Medical Colleges, who serves as chair of the committee; Janet Currie, PhD, professor of economics, University of California, Los Angeles; David Cutler, PhD, professor of economics, Harvard University; Karen Davis, PhD, president, The Commonwealth Fund; David Meltzer, MD, PhD, associate professor, departments of medicine and economics, University of Chicago; William L. Roper, MD, MPH, chief executive officer, UNC Health Care System, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; and Samuel Silverstein, MD, John C. Dalton Professor of Physiology and professor of medicine, College of Physicians and Surgeons, Columbia University.

Media Contacts

Suzanne Ffolkes
VP Communications

Anna Briseño
Senior Manager of Communications

You can change the image of things to come. But you can’t do it sitting on your hands … The science community should reach out to Congress and build bridges.
The Honorable John E. Porter