Past Advocacy Award Winners

List of Past Advocacy Award Winners

Geoffrey Beene Builders of Science
2018 Roger I. Glass, MD, PhD
2017 Leland H. Hartwell, PhD
2016 John Noseworthy, MD
2015 David Van Andel and George Vande Woude, PhD
2014 Leroy Hood, MD, PhD
2013 John Mendelsohn, MD (deceased)
2012 Donald A.B. Lindberg, MD

Builders of Science Award
(Predecessor of Geoffrey Beene Builders of Science Award)
2011 Dean Kamen
2010 Robert W. Mahley, MD, PhD
2009 David Baltimore, PhD
2008 Richard A. Lerner, MD
2007 Michael S. Brown, MD; Joseph L. Goldstein, MD; and Donald W. Seldin, MD

Gordon and Llura Gund Leadership Award
2018 Shari and Garen Staglin
2017 Joseph Biden
2016 Trish (deceased) and George Vradenburg
2015 Michael Milken
2014 Kathy Giusti
2013 John F. Crowley
2012 Scott Johnson
2011 Hon. Michael R. Bloomberg
2010 Robert Klein II, JD
2009 James E. Stowers (deceased) and Virginia G. Stowers
2008 Pat Furlong
2007 Susan Axelrod

Exceptional Contributions as a Volunteer Advocate for Medical or Other Health-Related Research
(Predecessor of Gordon and Llura Gund Leadership Award)
2006 Gordon Gund
2005 Ambassador Nancy G. Brinker
2004 Ellen V. Sigal, PhD
2003 Wendy Chaite, Esq.
2002 Constance E. Lieber (deceased)
2001 Joan I. Samuelson
2000 David Frohnmayer (deceased) and Lynn Frohnmayer
1999 Tenley E. Albright, MD
1998 John Z. Aquilino (deceased) and John D. Aquilino
1998 Al Hunt and Judy Woodruff
1998 S. Robert Levine, MD and Leah Mullin
1997 Sharon Monsky (deceased)

 Research!America Advocacy Award for Sustained National Leadership
2018 Peter J. Hotez, MD, PhD
Raymond and Beverly Sackler Award For Sustained National Leadership
(Predecessor of Research!America Advocacy Award for Sustained National Leadership)
2017 Phillip A. Sharp, PhD
2016 Robert Langer, ScD
2015 Kenneth Olden, PhD
2014 Reed Tuckson, MD
2013 Mark L. Rosenberg, MD
2012 Margaret Foti, PhD., MD (h.c.)
2011 J. Michael Bishop, MD
2010 Ann Lurie
2009 C. Everett Koop, MD, ScD (deceased)
2008 William Foege, MD, MPH
2007 David Satcher, MD, PhD
2006 Linda H. Aiken, PhD, RN
2005 Judah Folkman, MD (deceased)

Sustained Leadership at the National Level
(Predecessor of Raymond and Beverly Sackler Award for Sustained National Leadership)
2004 Eric S. Lander, PhD
2003 Paul Berg, PhD
2002 Robert N. Butler, MD (deceased)
2001 Robert H. Brook, MD, ScD
2000 Roscoe Robinson, MD (deceased)
1999 Margaret E. Mahoney (deceased)

Isadore Rosenfeld Award for Impact on Public Opinion
2018 Atul Gawande, MD, MPH
2017 Kathy Bates
2016 Lisa Paulsen and the Entertainment Industry Foundation
2015 Robin Roberts
2014 Glenn Close, Jessie Close and Calen Pick
2013 Diane Rehm
2012 Sanjay Gupta, MD
2011 Charlie Rose
2010 G. Thompson Hutton, Esq.
2009 Bob Woodruff
2008 Hon. Arnold Schwarzenegger
2007 Mike Wallace (deceased)
2006 Sam Donaldson
2005 Marlo Thomas
2004 Scott Hamilton
2003 Michael J. Fox
2002 Jerry Lewis (deceased)

Impact on Public Opinion Through The Media
(Predecessor of Isadore Rosenfeld Award for Impact on Public Opinion)
2001 Isadore Rosenfeld, MD (deceased)
2000 James Redford
1999 Katie Couric
1998 Morton Kondracke
1997 Benjamin Reeve

Paul G. Rogers Distinguished Organization Advocacy Award
2018 EveryLife Foundation for Rare Diseases
2017 The Lupus Foundation of America
2016 The ALS Association
2015 Society for Neuroscience
2014 Progeria Research Foundation
2013 California Institute for Regenerative Medicine
2012 The Food Allergy Initiative
2011 Defense and Veterans Brain Injury Center (DVBIC)
2010 March of Dimes
2009 Genetic Alliance
2008 amfAR, The Foundation for AIDS Research
2007 Coalition for the Advancement of Medical Research (CAMR)

Organization That Has Distinguished Itself By Its Advocacy
(Predecessor of Paul G. Rogers Distinguished Organization Advocacy Award)
2006 Center for Advancing Health 
2005 Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation International (JDRF)
2004 The American Society for Microbiology
2003 The American Society for Cell Biology
2002 Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB)
2001 Society for Women's Health Research
2000 Ad Hoc Group for Medical Research Funding
1999 North Carolina Association for Biomedical Research (NCABR)
1998 Connecticut United for Research Excellence, Inc. (CURE)

Edwin C. Whitehead Award for Medical Research Advocacy
(Awardee Selection Reserved to Research!America Board of Directors)
2018 Hon. Susan Collins
2017 Hon. Lamar Alexander
2016 Hon. Roy Blunt and Hon. Tom Cole 
2015 Hon. Fred Upton and Hon. Diana DeGette
2014 Hon. Frank Wolf
2013 Hon. Richard Burr and Hon. Bob Casey
2012 Hon. Barbara A. Mikulski
2011 Hon. Richard J. Durbin
2010 Hon. David R. Obey
2009 Hon. Nancy Pelosi
2008 Hon. Edward Kennedy (deceased)
2007 Hon. Orrin G. Hatch
2006 Hon. Michael N. Castle and Hon. Diana DeGette
2005 Hon. Paul G. Rogers (deceased)
2004 Hon. Bob Michel (deceased)
2003 Hon. Connie Mack
2002 Hon. Tom Harkin
2001 Hon. Ted Stevens (deceased) and Hon. C.W. Bill Young (deceased)
2000 Hon. John Edward Porter and Hon. Arlen Specter (deceased)
1999 Hon. Mark O. Hatfield (deceased)

Special Awards

Legacy Award
2018 Hon. John Edward Porter
2017 Anthony S. Fauci, MD
2016 Harold Varmus, MD
2009 Hon. Arlen Specter (deceased)
2006 Nancy Reagan (deceased)
2003 Hon. George W. Bush

Lifetime Achievement as an Advocate for Medical Research
1998 Michael E. DeBakey, MD (deceased)
1997 William G. Anlyan, MD (deceased)

Special Recognition for Research Advocacy
2000 Patty Wood (deceased) and the Washington Association for Biomedical Research
1998 Gertrude Quigley (deceased)
1997 Ellen Levine

Inspiration, Empowerment, and Advocacy for Health
2000 PARADE Magazine - Walter Anderson


Media Contacts

Terri Schwartzbeck
Senior Manager of Communications 

You can change the image of things to come. But you can’t do it sitting on your hands … The science community should reach out to Congress and build bridges.
The Honorable John E. Porter