Research!America honors leading research advocates

Sens. Richard Burr (R-NC) and Bob Casey (D-PA), Diane Rehm, John F. Crowley, Drs. John Mendelsohn and Mark Rosenberg, California Institute for Regenerative Medicine (CIRM) to Receive 2013 Research!America Advocacy Awards

Alexandria,Va.-March 13, 2013-Research!America will honor extraordinary leaders in biomedicaland health research advocacy at the 17th Annual Advocacy Awards onWednesday, March 13, 2013at the Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium inWashington, DC. The awards dinner attracts more than 400 leaders fromgovernment, industry, academia and health advocacy organizations to recognizetop medical and health research advocates who have made an impact instrengthening our national commitment to research.

Thisyear's Advocacy Award Winners are: Sens. Richard Burr (R-NC) and Bob Casey(D-PA);Diane Rehm, author and host of WAMU 88.5 and NPR's "The DianeRehm Show"; John F. Crowley, patient advocate, inspirational entrepreneur, and chairmanand CEO of Amicus Therapeutics, Inc.; John Mendelsohn, MD, director, KhalifaInstitute for Personalized Cancer Therapy and former president of TheUniversity of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center; Mark Rosenberg, MD, presidentand CEO, The Task Force for Global Health; and the California Institute forRegenerative Medicine (CIRM).

"Theleadership demonstrated by this year's award recipients has inspired others topush boundaries to improve the health of Americans and maintain our competitiveedge in science and innovation," said Mary Woolley, president and CEO ofResearch!America. "As advocates, they have contributed significantly to makingbiomedical and health research a higher national priority."

Sens.Richard Burr (R-NC) and Bob Casey (D-PA) will receive the 2013 Edwin C.Whitehead Award forMedical Research Advocacy for their leadershipand strong support of federal and private sector medical research andinnovation. Sens. Burr and Casey have worked individually and in a bipartisanmanner to promote a robust medical research pipeline in the U.S. and ensurepatients have access to new, safe and effective treatments and technologies ona timely basis.

Diane Rehm, author and host of WAMU 88.5 and NPR's "TheDiane Rehm Show," will receive Research!America's 2013 Isadore RosenfeldAward for Impact on Public Opinion for emphasizing the value of researchand increasing the level of awareness and understanding among policy makers andthe public about science and health.

Patientadvocate and inspirational entrepreneur John F. Crowley, chairman and CEO ofAmicus Therapeutics, Inc., will receive Research!America's 2013 Gordon andLlura Gund Leadership Award for his outstanding efforts to accelerate newtreatments for Pompe disease, ultimately saving the lives of his children. Themajor motion picture, Extraordinary Measures,starring BrendanFraser and Harrison Ford, is inspired by Crowley's story.

John Mendelsohn, MD,director of the Khalifa Institute for Personalized Cancer Therapy and formerpresident of The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, will receiveResearch!America's 2013 Geoffrey Beene Builders of Science Award forpioneering translational research that has provided the foundation for targetedcancer therapies and for his advocacy to increase our nation's support forbiomedical research.

MarkRosenberg, MD, president and CEO of The Task Force for Global Health, will behonored with Research!America's 2013 Raymond and Beverly Sackler Award forSustained National Leadership for advancing injury prevention, road safetyand improved traffic safety not only in the U.S. but also in many developingcountries.

TheCalifornia Institute for Regenerative Medicine (CIRM) will receiveResearch!America's 2013 Paul G. Rogers Distinguished Organization AdvocacyAward for accelerating stem cell research and the potential development ofa new generation of promising therapies for previously untreatable humandisorders.

Majorsponsors of the 2013 Research!America Advocacy Awards dinner include Elsevier,Johnson & Johnson, and UnitedHealth Group.

Formore information about the honorees, visit

About Research!America's Advocacy Awards Dinner

The annual Research!America Advocacy Awards program wasestablished in 1996 by the Board of Directors to honor outstanding advocatesfor medical, health and scientific research. Recognized individuals andorganizations are those whose leadership efforts have been notably effective inadvancing our nation's commitment to research. This year the awards event willtake place on March 13, 2013, at the Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium in Washington,DC. For more information, visit

About Research America

Research!America is the nation's largest nonprofit publiceducation and advocacy alliance working to make research to improve health ahigher national priority. Founded in 1989, Research!America is supported bymember organizations representing 125 million Americans. Visit

Media Contacts

Tim Haynes
Senior Director of Communications 

The capabilities are enormous, a little bit of research can pay off quite a bit in the long run.
Paul D’ Addario, retinitis pigmentosa patient