Coalition for the Advancement of Medical Research to Receive Research!America Advocacy Award

Paul G. Rogers Award for the Organization That Has Distinguished Itself by Its Advocacy
Wednesday, March 21, 2007

WASHINGTON—March 21, 2007—The Coalition for the Advancement of Medical Research received Research!America's 2007 Paul G. Rogers Award for the Organization That Has Distinguished Itself by Its Advocacy. The award recognizes CAMR's work to promote the future of regenerative medicine and alleviate funding restrictions on embryonic stem cell research. Sean Tipton, the coalition's president, accepted the award.

CAMR was honored March 20, 2007, at the 11th Annual Research!America Advocacy Awards gala at the Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium in Washington, DC. George Stephanopoulos of ABC News served as master of ceremonies for the event.

Formed in 2001, CAMR is the nation's leading pro-cures coalition, advocating for the advancement of research and technologies in regenerative medicine. Its members include leading patient advocacy groups, universities, scientific societies and foundations. CAMR's primary goal is to lift the restrictions currently in place on federal funding for embryonic stem cell research. A second goal is to ensure that therapeutic cloning remains legal. CAMR believes both of these areas of scientific research may offer important solutions to a number of chronic illnesses.

Tipton is a founding member of the CAMR board of directors. He was CAMR's vice president of communications until 2005, when he was appointed the organization's president. Tipton is also director of public affairs for the American Society for Reproductive Medicine. He has held multiple advocacy and public policy positions with organizations such as The Endocrine Society, National Association of State Universities and Land Grant Colleges, Ad Hoc Group for Medical Research and Friends of the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development.

For more information about CAMR and its member organizations, visit

Recipients of Research!America's Advocacy Awards are individuals and organizations that have helped create policies that support research to improve health and helped bring America's scientists the resources they need, and helped millions of Americans understand the returns of medical and health research in new preventions, treatments and cures.

Previous recipients of this award include the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation International, American Society for Cell Biology and Society for Women's Health Research.

Hogan & Hartson LLP is the benefactor of Research!America's award to exemplary organizations, newly named for the former Congressman and renowned advocate for health, The Honorable Paul G. Rogers. Rogers is Research!America's chair emeritus and a Hogan & Hartson partner.

The other 2007 Research!America Advocacy Award winners are Utah Senator Orrin G. Hatch; Mike Wallace, mental health research advocate and CBS News correspondent emeritus; David Satcher, MD, PhD, director, Center of Excellence on Health Disparities and Poussaint-Satcher-Cosby Chair in Mental Health at Morehouse School of Medicine and former Surgeon General of the U.S.; Susan Axelrod, president, Citizens United for Research in Epilepsy; and Nobel Laureates Michael S. Brown, MD, and Joseph L. Goldstein, MD, regental professors, and Donald W. Seldin, MD, chair in internal medicine, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center.

About Research!America

Research!America is the nation's largest not-for-profit public education and advocacy alliance working to make research to improve health a higher national priority. The 2007 Advocacy Awards represent Research!America's 11th year of recognizing the accomplishments of leading advocates for medical and health research.

# # #

Media Contacts

Robert Shalett
Director of Communications 

Public sentiment is everything. With public sentiment, nothing can fail; without it nothing can succeed.
Abraham Lincoln