The Honorable Paul G. Rogers to Receive Research!America Award for Health Research Advocacy

Tuesday, February 22, 2005

ALEXANDRIA, VA—February 22, 2005—The Honorable Paul G. Rogers, former chairman of the House Subcommittee on Health and the Environment and lifelong medical and health research advocate, will receive the 2005 Research!America Edwin C. Whitehead Award for Medical Research Advocacy on March 15 at the ninth annual Research!America Advocacy Awards Dinner at the Willard InterContinental in Washington (DC). PARADE magazine is the host benefactor of the event and Sam Donaldson of ABC News will serve as master of ceremonies.

Rogers, a former U.S. Congressman from Florida (1955-79), served as chair of the House Subcommittee on Health and the Environment from 1971-79. He became known as "Mr. Health" for playing a major role in enacting health legislation, including the National Cancer Act of 1971 and 1977; the Health Manpower Training Act; the Heart, Blood Vessel, Lung and Blood Act; the Research on Aging Act; the Emergency Medical Services Act; the Clean Air Act; and the Safe Drinking Water Act.

His vision and leadership were the driving force behind Research!America's advocacy to double the National Institutes of Health budget (FY99-FY03). He is a partner at Hogan & Hartson LLP, chair of Research!America's Board of Directors, serves on a number of national health-related boards and widely lectures on health issues and health policy.

Other 2005 Research!America Advocacy Award winners are The Honorable Nancy G. Brinker, founder of The Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation; Angiogenesis Research Pioneer and Advocate Judah Folkman, MD ; the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation International; and Marlo Thomas, actor and national outreach director for St. Jude Children's Research Hospital.

"The winners of this year's awards are advocacy standouts. Their hard work and dedication represent the apex of advocacy for research," said Mary Woolley, Research!America president. "Because of the actions of these leaders, as well as the many others who follow their examples, the promise of better health through advances in research will be achieved sooner, rather than later, to the benefit of every American."

Honorary Chairs of the dinner include William G. Anlyan, MD; The Honorable and Mrs. William McC. Blair, Jr.; Barry R. Bloom, PhD; Roger Bulger, MD; Joseph Califano, Jr.; The Honorable Frank C. Carlucci; Vice Adm. Richard H. Carmona, MD, MPH, FACS; David R. Challoner, MD; Carolyn Clancy, MD; The Honorable John Cornyn; Nils Daulaire, MD, MPH; Michael E. DeBakey, MD; Peter Dolan; Sam Donaldson; Robert Essner; Anthony S. Fauci, MD; Harvey Fineberg, PhD, MD; James W. Fordyce; James Foster; Julie L. Gerberding, MD, MPH; The Honorable Newt Gingrich; Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison; Robert A. Ingram; Karen Katen; Paul W. Kincade, PhD; Stephanie Lederman; LaSalle D. Leffall, Jr., MD; Alan I. Leshner, PhD; Donald A.B. Lindberg, MD; Margaret E. Mahoney; Afaf I. Meleis, PhD, DrPS (Hon), FAAN; The Honorable Dan Mica; The Honorable Bob Michel; Mary Tyler Moore; John P. Moses; Steven R. Patierno, PhD; William A. Peck, MD; Congresswoman Nancy Pelosi; The Honorable Robert Ray; Gov. and Mrs. Mitt Romney; William L. Roper, MD, MPH; David Satcher, MD, PhD; John R. Seffrin, PhD; Martin Soeters; Allen M. Spiegel, MD; C. Charles Stokes, Jr.; The Honorable Louis W. Sullivan, MD; Sidney Taurel; The Honorable Billy Tauzin; Samuel O. Thier, MD; Andrew von Eshenbach, MD; M. Cass Wheeler; John Whitehead; Peter Whitehead; Susan Whitehead; and Elias A. Zerhouni, MD.

Research!America is a not-for-profit, membership-supported public education and advocacy alliance founded in 1989. Its nearly 500 member institutions, organizations and corporations represent the voices of more than 100 million Americans who want medical and health research-including research to prevent disease, disability and injury and to promote health-to be a much higher national priority. Research!America's public opinion surveys and advocacy-based programs and publications are designed to reach the public and decision makers with messages that support a strong and vibrant research enterprise.


# # #

Media Contacts

Robert Shalett
Director of Communications 

Without research, there is no hope.
The Honorable Paul G. Rogers