Research!America Honors Leading Health Research Advocates

U.S. Representative David Obey (D-WI) among Award Recipients
Monday, March 15, 2010

WASHINGTON—March 15, 2010—Research!America's 14th Annual Advocacy Awards event will convene nearly 500 leaders from government, academia, industry and health advocacy organizations to honor some of the leading medical and health research advocates of our time. The event will take place on the evening of Tuesday, March 16, at the Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium in Washington, DC.

This year's recipients are U.S. Rep. David Obey (D-WI); research advocate-philanthropist Ann Lurie; March of Dimes; California Institute for Regenerative Medicine board chair Robert Klein, JD; J. David Gladstone Institutes Founding Director Robert Mahley, MD, PhD; and Geoffrey Beene Foundation Trustee and CEO G. Thompson Hutton, Esq.

Congressman Obey will receive the Edwin C. Whitehead Award for Medical Research Advocacy for being a driving force behind strengthening federal investments in medical research during his 21 terms in Congress.

Philanthropist Ann Lurie will receive the Raymond and Beverly Sackler Award for Sustained National Leadership for her exceptional contributions as one of the nation's foremost advocates and philanthropists for medical and health research.

March of Dimes will receive the Paul G. Rogers Distinguished Organization Advocacy Award for its decades of successful advocacy for maternal and child health research and services.

Robert Klein, JD, chair of the governing board of the California Institute for Regenerative Medicine, will receive the Gordon and Llura Gund Leadership Award for his vision and his bold advocacy for diabetes and stem cell research for patients in California and nationwide.

Robert W. Mahley, MD, PhD, founding director and immediate past president of The J. David Gladstone Institutes, will receive the Builders of Science Award for his leadership in guiding Gladstone's growth to become one of the world's foremost independent research institutions, known for its groundbreaking basic science and substantial impact on disease prevention.

G. Thompson Hutton, Esq., trustee and CEO of the Geoffrey Beene Foundation and president and CEO of Geoffrey Beene, LLC, will receive the Isadore Rosenfeld Award for Impact on Public Opinion for his leadership behind the Foundation's national public service campaign "Rock Stars of Science" and many other philanthropic and advocacy initiatives in support of medical research.

Pictures of the Advocacy Awards event will be available on March 17 at

Research!America is the nation's largest not-for-profit public education and advocacy alliance working to make research to improve health a higher national priority. The 2010 Advocacy Awards represent Research!America's 14th year of recognizing the accomplishments of leading advocates for medical and health research. For more information, visit


Media Contacts

Robert Shalett
Director of Communications 

Luck shouldn't play a role in why I'm alive.
Laurie MacCaskill, a seven-year pancreatic cancer survivor