University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center Leaders to Receive Research!America Advocacy Award

Builders of Science Award to Brown, Goldstein and Seldin
Wednesday, March 21, 2007

WASHINGTON—March 21, 2007—Two Nobel laureates and a distinguished chair of internal medicine received Research!America's inaugural Builders of Science Award. Michael Brown, MD, Joseph Goldstein, MD, and Donald W. Seldin, MD, share the award for their collaborative work to build the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center into a top-ranked research institution.

The three were honored March 20, 2007, at the 11th Annual Research!America Advocacy Awards gala at the Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium in Washington, DC.

Brown and Goldstein's collaboration at UT Southwestern established the first cause of heart attacks that could be traced to the molecular level. Together they received the 1985 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for their work, as well as the National Medal of Science (1988) and Lasker Award in Basic Medical Research (1985).

Brown is a regental professor at the university's medical school, where he holds the W.A. Moncrief Chair and directs the Jonsson Center for Molecular Genetics. He began his career as a resident in internal medicine at Massachusetts General Hospital, where he met Goldstein.

Goldstein is chair of the Department of Molecular Genetics at the Medical Center. In 1985, Goldstein was named regental professor of the University of Texas. He holds the Paul J. Thomas Chair in Medicine and the Julie and Louis A. Beecherl Distinguished Chair in Biomedical Science.

Considered the "intellectual father" of the UT Southwestern Medical School, Seldin has been called one of the dominant intellectual forces in American medicine. He began his career at the Yale University School of Medicine. He joined UT Southwestern in 1951 and was named chair of internal medicine in 1952, a role he held until 1988. He has received 30 honorary awards for his accomplishments, including his work training thousands of medical students.

Recipients of Research!America's Advocacy Awards are individuals and organizations that have helped create policies that support research to improve health and bring America's scientists the resources they need, and helped millions of Americans see the returns of medical and health research in new preventions, treatments and cures.

Other 2007 Research!America Advocacy Award winners are Utah Senator Orrin G. Hatch; Mike Wallace, mental health research advocate and correspondent emeritus, CBS News; David Satcher, MD, PhD, director, Center of Excellence on Health Disparities and Poussaint-Satcher-Cosby Chair in Mental Health at Morehouse School of Medicine and former Surgeon General of the United States; Susan Axelrod, president, Citizens United for Research in Epilepsy; and the Coalition for the Advancement of Medical Research.

About Research!America

Research!America is the nation's largest not-for-profit public education and advocacy alliance working to make research to improve health a higher national priority. The 2007 Advocacy Awards represent Research!America's 11th year of recognizing the accomplishments of leading advocates for medical and health research.

# # #

Media Contacts

Robert Shalett
Director of Communications 

If concerted, long-term investments in research are not made, America will lose an entire generation of young scientists.
Brenda Canine, PhD; McLaughlin Research Institute, Montana