Skip to main content

The GEOFFREY BEENE BUILDERS OF SCIENCE AWARD recognizes those who have provided inspiration and determination in building an outstanding home for research. Eligible candidates for the award are distinguished medical, health, and scientific research administrators, scientists and other leaders who have demonstrated their commitment to and advocacy for research by building an outstanding scientific research institution. 

Dr. Paul Offit, co-recipient of the Geoffrey Beene Foundation Builders of Science Award, was elected to the National Academy of Medicine in 2011. He currently serves as the director of the Vaccine Education Center at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia as well as the Maurice R. Hilleman Professor of Vaccinology and a professor of pediatrics at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania. In 2015, he was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. In 2018, Dr. Offit received the Gold Medal from the Sabin Vaccine Institute. Dr. Offit has published more than 160 papers in medical and scientific journals and is the co-inventor of the rotavirus vaccine, RotaTeq, recommended for universal use in infants by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). 

In 2009, Dr. Offit received the President’s Certificate for Outstanding Service from the American Academy of Pediatrics. In 2013, Dr. Offit received the Maxwell Finland award for Outstanding Scientific Achievement from the National Foundation for Infectious Diseases and the Distinguished Alumnus award from UMSoM. Dr. Offit was a member of the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices to the CDC and is a founding advisory board member of the Autism Science Foundation and the Foundation for Vaccine Research. 


For more information about the Geoffrey Beene Foundation Builders of Science Award, click here.

Paul A. Offit, MD - 2020 Geoffrey Beene Foundation Builders of Science Award