

April 30, 2020

OFFICERS

The Hon. Michael N. Castle, Chair The Hon. Kweisi Mfume, Vice Chair * Mary Woolley, President E. Albert Reece, MD, PhD, MBA, Secretary Amy Comstock Rick, JD, Treasurer

BOARD MEMBERS

Tenley E. Albright, MD Georges C. Benjamin, MD **Nancy Brown** Susan Dentzer Mikael Dolsten, MD, PhD Victor J. Dzau, MD Jay A. Gershen, DDS, PhD The Hon, Bart Gordon William N. Hait, MD, PhD Mary J.C. Hendrix, PhD The Hon. Rush D. Holt, PhD Elizabeth Baker Keffer Debra R. Lappin, JD Alan I. Leshner, PhD James L. Madara, MD Lucinda Maine, PhD, RPh Mark McClellan, MD, PhD Herbert Pardes, MD Sudin S. Parikh PhD Harold L. Paz. MD. MS Guillermo Prado, PhD Derek Rapp Gary M. Reedy **Laing Rogers** Larry J. Shapiro, MD Deborah Trautman, PhD, RN, FAAN M. Roy Wilson, MD Keith R. Yamamoto, PhD Elias A. Zerhouni, MD

CHAIR EMERITUS

The Hon. John Edward Porter

*on leave of absence

Suite 501
Arlington, VA 22202
P 703.739.2577
F 703.739.2372
E info@researchamerica.org

241 18th Street South

The Honorable Mitch McConnell Majority Leader U.S. Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Charles Schumer Minority Leader U.S. Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Minority Leader U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Leader McConnell, Speaker Pelosi, Minority Leader Schumer, and Minority Leader McCarthy:

We greatly appreciate your determined, bipartisan efforts to mitigate the devastating effects of the COVID-19 pandemic. As you work to craft a fifth legislative package aimed at responding to this crisis, we urge you to take action on two critical fronts: 1) addressing dangerous shortfalls in the resources needed to sustain our nation's scientific research capacity; and 2) equipping the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) to assure our health care system emerges from the COVID-19 pandemic stronger, more resilient and better equipped for the next major health threat.

Research! America is truly grateful to Senator Ed Markey (D-MA) and Representatives Diana DeGette (D-CO), Fred Upton (R-MI), Anna Eshoo (D-CA), and Jackie Speier (D-CA) for their Dear Colleagues supporting resources to empower research enterprise recovery in the wake of COVID-19. The pandemic cannot be allowed to erode our global scientific leadership, jeopardize medical progress, and compromise our nation's ability to address future threats to national health and security. We ask that you provide the funding needed to reinforce COVID-19-weakened scientific capacity and enable federally-funded research that has been stalled or reprogrammed to resume as soon as possible.

We are equally grateful to Senator Richard Blumenthal (D-CT) and Representative Don Beyer (D-VA) for championing the additional resources AHRQ needs to address the health system impact of COVID-19, and fully support their efforts to secure supplemental funding for AHRQ in the fifth emergency package. Our nation's health care workforce is the frontline against COVID-19. Members of that workforce and the patients they serve deserve a healthcare system that adapts to the challenges COVID-19 presents. AHRQ must be equipped with the resources needed to quickly answer questions about the

rapidly evolving healthcare landscape, addressing challenges and disseminating best practices. It is also the right agency to identify strategies that ensure our healthcare system is equipped for a reemergence of this pandemic or for the next broad-scale health threat well before it bears down on the American people.

Thank you, and please express our gratitude to your respective staff members, for your diligence and extraordinarily hard work. Please consider Research! America a resource if additional information about these funding needs would be useful.

Sincerely,

Mary Woolley

President and CEO

Maryloolley

Research! America

CC

The Honorable Ed Markey

The Honorable Richard Blumenthal

The Honorable Diana DeGette

The Honorable Fred Upton

The Honorable Anna Eshoo

The Honorable Jackie Speier

The Honorable Don Beyer