

November 14, 2017

OFFICERS

The Hon. Michael N. Castle, Chair The Hon. John Edward Porter, Chair Emeritus The Hon. Kweisi Mfume, Vice Chair Mary Woolley, President E. Albert Reece, MD, PhD, MBA, Secretary Lucinda Maine, PhD, RPh, Treasurer

BOARD MEMBERS

Tenley E. Albright, MD Hortensia Amaro, PhD Georges C. Benjamin, MD Nancy Brown Susan Dentzer Victor J. Dzau, MD Susan Fitzpatrick, PhD Jay A. Gershen, DDS, PhD The Hon, Bart Gordon William N. Hait, MD. PhD Larry Hausner, MBA Mary J.C. Hendrix, PhD Martha N. Hill, PhD, RN Rush D. Holt, PhD Harry Johns Elizabeth Baker Keffer Debra R. Lappin, JD Alan I. Leshner, PhD James L. Madara, MD Mark McClellan, MD, PhD Herbert Pardes, MD Sudip S. Parikh, PhD Harold L. Paz, MD, MS Gary M. Reedy Amy Comstock Rick, JD Laing Rogers Larry J. Shapiro, MD Gregory Sorensen, MD Keith R. Yamamoto, PhD

Elias A. Zerhouni, MD

241 18th Street South
Suite 501
Arlington, VA 22202
P 703.739.2577
F 703.739.2372
E info@researchamerica.org

The Honorable Mitch McConnell Senate Majority Leader United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Charles Schumer Senate Minority Leader United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Paul Ryan Speaker of the House U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Democratic Leader U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Speaker Ryan and Leaders McConnell, Schumer and Pelosi,

The undersigned are writing to urge you to forge a bipartisan agreement that raises the Defense and non-Defense Discretionary (NDD) budget caps and provides meaningful funding increases for our nation's science agencies.

Crafting and securing passage of an annual budget that reflects the best interests of America and Americans is undoubtedly one of the most challenging and important responsibilities Congress faces each year. We firmly believe that the 115th Congress cannot fulfill this responsibility unless the sequestration budget caps imposed under the 2011 Budget Control Act are raised.

The counter-strategic impact of the budget caps is nowhere more apparent than in the science arena. The National Science Foundation (NSF), Department of Energy (DOE), Department of the Interior (DOI), National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), Department of Agriculture (USDA), Department of Defense (DOD), National Institutes of Health (NIH) and our nation's other science departments and agencies support the pre-commercial research needed to mitigate the effects of natural disasters, meet Americans' energy needs, pursue homeland and cybersecurity, overcome deadly and costly diseases, pre-empt threats to our nation's food and antibiotic supplies, and advance other top priority objectives of the American people. Underinvestment places lives, property, our economy, and ultimately our very future as a nation and people at risk.

As it stands, federal investment in research and development (R&D) is at an historic low relative to GDP, steadily declining from nearly 2 percent at the height of the Space Race to 0.79 percent in FY16. The U.S. ranks tenth among developed nations in R&D spending

as a percentage of GDP. China is achieving astonishing average annual growth in R&D spending, at 18.3%. This compares to 1.4% across other upper-middle-income countries.

The stakes are alarmingly high. If other nations continue this trajectory while our nation lags behind, we will cede far more than our science leadership: our global economic leadership and with it our level of influence in other key areas of international engagement are also bound to falter.

Beyond the reasons outlined above, the return on federal R&D – whether measured in quantitative or qualitative terms -- dwarfs our nation's current investment in it. To secure our nation for the future and capture this untapped potential, we request that Congress act promptly to raise the caps and devote additional resources to bolstering federal science funding.

Thank you for considering our views, and for your service to our nation

Sincerely,

Mary Woolley, President and Chief Executive Officer, Research! America

Allyson K. Anderson Book, Executive Director, American Geosciences Institute

Matthew R. Bailey, President, National Association for Biomedical Research

Robert Barsley, Board Chair, Council of Scientific Society Presidents

Stefano Bertuzzi, Chief Executive Officer, The American Society for Microbiology

Sarah Brookhart, Executive Director, Association for Psychological Science

Melissa Carol Martin, President, American Association of Physicists in Medicine

Thomas Connelly Jr., Executive Director/Chief Executive Officer, American Chemical Society

Beth Cunningham, Executive Officer, American Association of Physics Teachers

Martin Frank, Executive Director, The American Physiological Society

Thomas Grumbly, President, Supporters of Agricultural Research Foundation

Rush Holt, Chief Executive Officer, American Association for the Advancement of Science

Kate Kirby, Chief Executive Officer, American Physical Society

Frank Krause, Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer, Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology

Felice Levine, Executive Director, American Educational Research Association

Katherine S. McCarter, Chief Executive Officer and Publisher, Ecological Society of America

Christine McEntee, Executive Director/Chief Executive Officer, American Geophysical Union

Alan C. Mix, President, The Oceanography Society

Wendy A. Naus, Executive Director, Consortium of Social Science Associations

Catherine O'Riordan and Gigi Swartz, Interim Co-CEOs, American Institute of Physics

Elizabeth Rogan, Chief Executive Officer, OSA-The Optical Society

Marty Saggese, Executive Director, Society for Neuroscience

Keith L. Seitter, Executive Director, American Meteorological Society

Paula Skedsvold, Executive Director, Federation of Associations in Behavioral and Brain Sciences

Crispin B. Taylor, Chief Executive Officer, American Society of Plant Biologists

Jamie Vernon, Executive Director, Sigma Xi

Keith Yamamoto, Chair, Coalition for the Life Sciences