

September 4, 2019

The Honorable Mitch McConnell Majority Leader U.S. Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Charles Schumer Minority Leader U.S. Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Minority Leader U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Leader McConnell, Speaker Pelosi, Minority Leader Schumer, and Minority Leader McCarthy:

On behalf of Research! America, the nation's largest nonprofit alliance advocating for science, discovery and innovation to achieve better health for all, thank you for your determined, successful efforts to secure a bipartisan budget agreement before Congress adjourned in August.

Your leadership has set the stage for Fiscal Year 2020 appropriations that respond strategically to the challenges and opportunities that will shape the next fiscal year. We urge you to clear the final, crucial hurdle by completing the FY20 appropriations process in September, and to strengthen our nation's research and public health agencies as they confront health threats that breed profound – and needless -- suffering and loss.

Your leadership can prevent the costly inefficiency and wasted time that stop-gap funding measures produce. The price Americans pay for these continuing resolutions (CRs) is nowhere more apparent than in the health arena: Instead of empowering desperately needed medical progress and allowing the flexibility to evolve public health strategies to reflect emerging and intensifying health threats, CRs lock federal agencies into previous fiscal year funding and activities regardless of current opportunity and need. Our nation deserves better.

Fiscal Year 2020 can mark the first in 22 years that begins with appropriations for every agency and program in place, and also be pivotal in elevating the priority that funding for life-saving science receives. By increasing funding robustly for NIH, CDC, NSF, AHRQ and FDA, Congress can equip these agencies to ramp up the fight against diseases that relentlessly take time, hope and loved ones from Americans and people across the globe.

OFFICERS

The Hon. Michael N. Castle, Chair The Hon. John Edward Porter, Chair Emeritus The Hon. Kweisi Mfurne, Vice Chair Mary Woolley, President E. Albert Reece, MD, PhD, MBA, Secretary Sudio S. Parikh. PhD. Treasurer

BOARD MEMBERS

Tenley E. Albright, MD Georges C. Benjamin, MD **Nancy Brown** Susan Dentzer Victor J. Dzau, MD Susan Fitzpatrick, PhD Jay A. Gershen, DDS, PhD The Hon. Bart Gordon William N. Hait, MD, PhD Larry Hausner, MBA Mary J.C. Hendrix, PhD Martha N. Hill, RN, PhD Rush D. Holt, PhD Elizabeth Baker Keffer Debra R. Lappin, JD Alan I. Leshner, PhD James L. Madara, MD Lucinda Maine, PhD, RPh Mark McClellan, MD, PhD Herbert Pardes, MD Harold L. Paz. MD. MS Guillermo Prado, PhD Derek Rapp Gary M. Reedy Amy Comstock Rick, JD Laing Rogers Gregory Sorensen, MD Keith R. Yamamoto, PhD Elias A. Zerhouni, MD

241 18th Street South Suite 501 Arlington, VA 22202 P 703.739.2577 F 703.739.2372

E info@researchamerica.org

Not only is greater research investment right, it is smart. If we don't stop threats like antibiotic resistance and Alzheimer's, time will inevitably increase the volume and intensity of needed care. Federal, state and local fiscal stability hinges on cost-effective answers. From basic and clinical medical research to social sciences research, from epidemiological research to health services research, federally-funded science can seed the solutions that stop these and other health challenges in their tracks.

We urge you to take a stand now for patients today and tomorrow by pushing for prompt passage of FY20 appropriations and by championing increased funding for federal research and public health agencies. Thank you, and thanks to your respective staff members, for your hard work on behalf of your constituents.

Sincerely,

Mary Woolley

President and CEO, Research! America

CC The Honorable Richard Shelby

The Honorable Nita Lowey

Maryloolley

The Honorable Patrick Leahy

The Honorable Kay Granger