

November 1, 2023

The Honorable Charles Schumer Senate Majority Leader U.S. Senate 322 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Mitch McConnell Senate Minority Leader U.S. Senate 317 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Leader Schumer and Leader McConnell,

On behalf of Research!America's Board of Directors and alliance members, thank you for your leadership and longstanding commitment to strengthening U.S. science and technology in service to the public good.

In that context, we respectfully request that you act without delay to schedule a floor vote for the confirmation of Dr. Monica Bertagnolli as the Director of the National Institutes of Health.

We firmly believe that Dr. Bertagnolli is the right leader at the right time to navigate the Institutes through a period in which the significance of scientific, medical, and public health progress has never been more apparent, the potential for leaps in that progress has never been greater, and threats to the funding and policies that empower that progress have never been more pronounced.

We understand that there are many competing requests and imperatives to consider as you schedule floor votes; please call on us if additional information would be useful in determining whether to accord priority to voting on Dr. Bertagnolli's confirmation.

Thanks for your consideration, Leaders Schumer and McConnell, and please extend our thanks to your staff members for their efforts on behalf of us all.

Sincerely,

Maryloolley

Mary Woolley President and CEO Research!America

OFFICERS

Sudip S. Parikh, PhD, Chair Georges C. Benjamin, MD, Vice Chair Mary Woolley, President E. Albert Reece, MD, PhD, MBA, Secretary Amy Comstock Rick, JD, Treasurer

BOARD MEMBERS

Nancy Brown Deborah Deas, MD, MPH The Hon. Charlie Dent Mikael Dolsten, MD, PhD Victor J. Dzau, MD Kafui Dzirasa, MD, PhD Ayman El-Mohandes, MBBCh, MD, MPH Arthur C. Evans Jr., PhD Darío Gil, PhD The Hon. Bart Gordon Mary J.C. Hendrix, PhD The Hon. Rush D. Holt, PhD Karen E. Knudsen, PhD Mark McClellan, MD, PhD Michelle McMurry-Heath, MD, PhD Jessica L. Mega, MD, MPH Herbert Pardes, MD Harold L. Paz, MD, MS Guillermo Prado, PhD Mary Pittman, DrPH Derek Rapp David Reese, MD Lewis G. Sandy, MD, FACP The Hon. Donna Shalala, PhD Deborah Trautman, PhD, RN, FAAN M. Roy Wilson, MD Keith R. Yamamoto, PhD Cynthia Zagieboylo Elias Zerhouni, MD

CHAIR EMERITI The Hon. Michael N. Castle Susan Dentzer

241 18th Street South Suite 501 Arlington, VA 22202

P 703-739-2577

F 703-739-2372

E info@researchamerica.org