

January 18, 2024

OFFICERS

Sudip S. Parikh, PhD, Chair Georges C. Benjamin, MD, Vice Chair Mary Woolley, President E. Albert Reece, MD, PhD, MBA, Secretary Amy Comstock Rick, JD, Treasurer

BOARD MEMBERS

Nancy Brown Deborah Deas, MD, MPH The Hon. Charlie Dent Mikael Dolsten, MD, PhD Victor J. Dzau, MD Kafui Dzirasa, MD, PhD Ayman El-Mohandes, MBBCh, MD, MPH Arthur C. Evans Jr., PhD Darío Gil. PhD The Hon. Bart Gordon Mary J.C. Hendrix, PhD The Hon, Rush D. Holt, PhD Karen E. Knudsen, MBA, PhD Mark McClellan, MD, PhD Michelle McMurry-Heath, MD, PhD Jessica L. Mega, MD, MPH Herbert Pardes, MD Harold L. Paz. MD. MS Mary Pittman, DrPH Guillermo Prado, PhD Derek Rapp David Reese, MD Lewis G. Sandy, MD, FACP The Hon. Donna Shalala, PhD Deborah Trautman, PhD, RN, FAAN M. Roy Wilson, MD Keith R. Yamamoto, PhD

Elias Zerhouni, MD CHAIR EMERITI

Cynthia Zagieboylo

The Hon. Michael N. Castle Susan Dentzer

241 18th Street South Suite 501 Arlington, VA 22202

P 703-739-2577

F 703-739-2372

E info@researchamerica.org

The Hon. Kay Granger Chair House Appropriations Committee U.S. House Washington, DC 20515

The Hon. Rosa DeLauro
Ranking Member
House Appropriations Committee
U.S. House
Washington, DC 20515

The Hon. Patty Murray Chair Senate Appropriations Committee U.S. Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Hon. Susan Collins
Vice Chair
Senate Appropriations Committee
U.S. Senate
Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chair Granger, Chair Murray, Ranking Member DeLauro, and Vice Chair Collins,

Congratulations on bicameral passage of a continuing resolution (CR) that extends Fiscal Year 2023 (FY23) funding levels to prevent a partial government shutdown. We appreciate the time and diligence you have devoted to securing the CR and thank you for your stewardship over the annual appropriations process.

As you move toward approving final funding levels for FY24, it is essential Congress take this opportunity to protect the nation's economic security and the well-being of the American people through robust funding of science and technology, including boosted funding for the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Science Foundation (NSF).

For FY24, we ask that you support at least \$47.8 billion for the National Institutes of Health, a minimum of \$9.9 billion for the NSF, and robust funding to ensure our nation's other research agencies can fulfill their critical missions. Our status as a worldwide leader in science and technology is at stake. Bipartisan support of the NIH has led to the agency's role as the world's largest public funder of medical research. We urge a continuation of this bipartisan commitment to faster progress against deadly and debilitating health threats and the significant economic return NIH funding delivers across the U.S. In FY22, NIH funding generated nearly \$100 billion in economic activity.

The House and Senate recommend FY24 funding levels for the NSF that are below the FY23 appropriation of \$9.9 billion, which itself is far less than the level authorized in the bipartisan 2022 CHIPS and Science Act. Today, government funding for research and development is just 0.7% of our GDP, compared to our historical peak of nearly 2% in 1964. Meanwhile, China and other competitors are aggressively increasing their investments in hopes of surpassing the U.S. as the world's leader in science and technology.

The American people realize the importance of robust government funding for science and technology. A recent national survey commissioned by the Science and Technology Action Committee of nearly 2,000 adults in five workforce sectors found that 70% of all respondents – 86% of Democrats, 63% of independents, and 55% of Republicans – say federal funding of science and technology is so important it should be protected from budget cuts. In the same survey, respondents agree that timing is critical. More than three-quarters of respondents say the U.S. is losing, or has already lost, its status as a global leader in science and technology. In fact, 60% of respondents say China, not the U.S., will be the global leader within five years.

Thank you again, Chair Granger, Chair Murray, Ranking Member DeLauro, and Vice Chair Collins, for considering this request and for your efforts, and those of your respective staff members, on behalf of us all.

Sincerely,

Mary Woolley President and CEO

CC:

The Honorable Hal Rogers

The Honorable Robert Aderholt

Marylbolley

The Honorable Matt Cartwright

The Honorable Jeanne Shaheen

The Honorable Tammy Baldwin

The Honorable Jerry Moran

The Honorable Shelley Moore Capito