

October 23, 2023

The Hon. Patty Murray Chair Senate Committee on Appropriations 154 Russell SOB Washington, DC 20510 The Hon. Susan Collins
Vice Chair
Senate Committee on Appropriations
413 Dirksen SOB
Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chair Murray and Vice Chair Collins,

On behalf of the Board of Directors and members of the Research!America Alliance, thank you for the innumerable ways you have advanced the security of the American people and populations across the globe. In that context, we appreciated your decision to include \$3.7 million for the Office of Pandemic Preparedness and Response (OPPR) in the Senate Continuing Resolution (CR) introduced in September. We respectfully request that you also champion its inclusion in the spending package that is anticipated to be negotiated over the next several weeks.

You each played a critical role in establishing OPPR as part of the PREVENT Pandemics Act (P.L. 117-328, Division FF, Title II). This seemingly modest provision of that law may actually determine whether our nation and vulnerable populations across the globe are protected from or defeated by the next pandemic. As you recognized in prioritizing the PREVENT Act, the loss of lives, the economic devastation, and the societal turmoil associated with global pandemics lends urgency to actions that produce a cohesive, fully coordinated anti-pandemic ecosystem at the federal, state, and local levels. Vigilant, systematic global coordination is another piece of that puzzle.

Achieving this sea change in U.S. pandemic preparedness is the formidable mission OPPR must achieve on behalf of us all, and we perceive the fact that this office lacks needed resources as a reckless gamble: A pandemic more deadly and destructive than COVID is just one virus away.

We urge you to re-establish pandemic preparedness and coordination as an urgent priority by funding OPPR as part of the next spending package that moves through Congress.

Thank you again for your extraordinary bipartisan leadership at a time in our nation's history when your willingness to confront national and international threats together has never been more important.

Sincerely,

President and CEO Research!America

Marylbolley

OFFICERS

Sudip S. Parikh, PhD, Chair Georges C. Benjamin, MD, Vice Chair Mary Woolley, President E. Albert Reece, MD, PhD, MBA, Secretary Amy Comstock Rick, JD, Treasurer

BOARD MEMBERS

Nancy Brown Deborah Deas, MD, MPH The Hon. Charlie Dent Mikael Dolsten, MD, PhD Victor J. Dzau, MD Kafui Dzirasa, MD, PhD Ayman El-Mohandes, MBBCh, MD, MPH Arthur C. Evans Jr., PhD Darío Gil. PhD The Hon. Bart Gordon Mary J.C. Hendrix, PhD The Hon, Rush D. Holt, PhD Karen E. Knudsen, MBA, PhD Mark McClellan, MD, PhD Michelle McMurry-Heath, MD, PhD Jessica L. Mega, MD, MPH Herbert Pardes, MD Harold L. Paz. MD. MS Mary Pittman, DrPH Guillermo Prado, PhD Derek Rapp David Reese, MD Lewis G. Sandy, MD, FACP The Hon. Donna Shalala, PhD Deborah Trautman, PhD, RN, FAAN M. Roy Wilson, MD Keith R. Yamamoto, PhD Cynthia Zagieboylo

CHAIR EMERITI

Elias Zerhouni, MD

The Hon. Michael N. Castle Susan Dentzer

241 18th Street South Suite 501 Arlington, VA 22202

P 703-739-2577

F 703-739-2372

E info@researchamerica.org