Home » Advocacy Awards » Past Advocacy Awards » 2005 Advocacy Awards

2005 Advocacy Awards

Research!America 9th Annual Advocacy Awards Gala, March 15, 2005

Master of Ceremonies

Sam Donaldson
ABC News and Research!America Board Member

Host Benefactor

PARADE magazine
Represented by
Lee Kravitz, Editor-in-Chief

Thank You to Our 2005 Gala Sponsors
2005 Advocacy Award Honorary Chairs

2005 Award Recipients

Edwin C. Whitehead Award for Medical Research Advocacy

The Honorable Paul G. Rogers
Award benefactor: Whitehead Charitable Foundation

Isadore Rosenfeld Award for Impact on Public Opinion

Marlo Thomas
National Outreach Director
St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital
Award benefactor: Rosenfeld Heart Foundation

Raymond and Beverly Sackler Award for Sustained Leadership at the National Level

Judah Folkman, MD
Surgeon-in-Chief, Emeritus; Director, Vascular Biology Program; and Andrus Professor of Pediatric Surgery and Professor of Cell Biology, Department of Surgery
Harvard Medical School.
Award benefactors: Raymond and Beverly Sackler

Exceptional Contributions as a Volunteer Advocate for Medical or Other Health-Related Research

Ambassador Nancy G. Brinker
Susan G. Komen for the Cure

Organization that has Distinguished Itself by Its Advocacy

The Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation International
Mary Tyler Moore, International Chairman
Peter Van Etten, President

The annual Research!America Advocacy Awards program was established in 1996 by the board of directors to honor outstanding advocates for medical, health and scientific research. Recognized individuals and organizations are those whose leadership efforts have been notably effective in advancing our nation’s commitment to research.

Contact us information about advocacy awards prior to 2003.