Home » Advocacy Awards » Past Advocacy Awards » 2006 Advocacy Awards

2006 Advocacy Awards

Research!America’s 10th Annual Advocacy Awards Gala, March 21, 2006

Master of Ceremonies

Judy Woodruff

Broadcast Journalist and Research!America Board Member

Media Sponsor

PARADE magazine

Media Host

Lee Kravitz
Editor-in-Chief, PARADE

Thank You to Our 2006 Gala Sponsors
2006 Advocacy Award Honorary Chairs

2006 Award Recipients

Legacy Award

Former First Lady Nancy Reagan

Edwin C. Whitehead Award for Medical Research Advocacy

The Honorable Michael N. Castle
The Honorable Diana DeGette
Award benefactor: Whitehead Charitable Foundation

Isadore Rosenfeld Award for Impact on Public Opinion

Sam Donaldson
ABC News
Award benefactor: Rosenfeld Heart Foundation

Raymond and Beverly Sackler Award for Sustained Leadership at the National Level

Linda H. Aiken, PhD, RN
Director, Center for Health Outcomes and Policy Research, Claire M. Fagin Leadership Professor of Nursing and Professor of Sociology University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing
Award benefactors: Raymond and Beverly Sackler

Exceptional Contributions as a Volunteer Advocate for Medical or Other Health-Related Research

Gordon Gund
Co-founder and Chairman, The Foundation Fighting Blindness
Chief Executive Officer, Gund Investment Corporation

Organization that has Distinguished Itself by Its Advocacy

Center for the Advancement of Health
Jessie Gruman, PhD

The annual Research!America Advocacy Awards program was established in 1996 by the board of directors to honor outstanding advocates for medical, health and scientific research. Recognized individuals and organizations are those whose leadership efforts have been notably effective in advancing our nation’s commitment to research.

Contact us information about advocacy awards prior to 2003.