Home » Advocacy Awards » Past Advocacy Awards » 2011 Advocacy Awards

2011 Advocacy Awards

2010 Advocacy Awards

2011 Research!America, Advocacy Awards Dinner
March 15, 2011, Washington, DC

Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium

The annual Research!America Advocacy Awards program was established in 1996 by the board of directors to honor outstanding advocates for medical, health and scientific research. Recognized individuals and organizations are those whose leadership efforts have been notably effective in advancing our nation’s commitment to research.

Download a fact sheet about Research!America’s 15th annual Advocacy Awards(PDF).

Click here to view photos and highlights from the event.

We Thank Our Corporate Host

Pfizer, Inc

We Thank Our Principal Partner

Johns Hopkins University

We Thank Our Tribute Reception Sponsor


Jack Watters, MD

Jack Watters, MD
Corporate Host
Pfizer, Inc

Harry Johns

Harry Johns
Alzheimer’s Association

Our 2011 Advocacy Awards Honorary Chairs

  • The Honorable Daniel Kahikina Akaka
  • Bruce M. Alberts, PhD
  • The Honorable Tammy Baldwin
  • The Honorable Howard L. Berman
  • William R. Brinkley, PhD
  • Nancy Brown
  • The Honorable Michael C. Burgess, MD
  • The Honorable Benjamin L. Cardin
  • The Honorable Robert P. Casey, Jr.
  • John Castellani
  • The Honorble Donna M. Christensen
  • The Honorable Thad Cochran
  • Daniel Colantone
  • The Honorable Susan M. Collins
  • The Honorable James E. Clyburn
  • Ronald J. Daniels, JD, LLM
  • The Honorable Diana DeGette
  • Susan Dentzer
  • The Honorable John D. Dingell
  • Frank Douglas PhD, MD
  • The Honorable Mike Doyle
  • Victor J. Dzau, MD
  • The Honorable Chaka Fattah
  • The Honorable Bob Filner
  • Gerald D. Fischbach, MD
  • Margaret Foti, PhD
  • The Honorable Dick Gephardt
  • Jay A. Gershen, DDS, PhD
  • The Honorable Kirsten E. Gillibrand
  • The Honorable Charles A. Gonzalez
  • Barbara A. Gordon
  • Gary L. Gottlieb, MD
  • The Honorable Luis V. Gutierrez
  • The Honorable Tom Harkin
  • Walter Havenstein
  • Mary J.C. Hendrix, PhD
  • The Honorable Maurice D. Hinchey
  • The Honorable Rush Holt
  • The Honorable Michael M. Honda
  • Jennifer L. Howse, PhD
  • The Honorable Daniel K. Inouye
  • The Honorable Jesse Jackson, Jr.
  • The Honorable Tim Johnson
  • The Honorable Dennis J. Kucinich
  • Debra Lappin, JD
  • The Honorable Barbara Lee
  • The Honorable John Lewis
  • The Honorable Zoe Lofgren
  • The Honorable Nita M. Lowey
  • The Honorable Richard G. Lugar
  • Ann Lurie
  • Lucinda L. Maine, PhD, RPh
  • The Honorable Carolyn B. Maloney
  • The Honorable Doris O. Matsui
  • The Honorable Betty McCollum
  • The Honorable Jim McDermott
  • The Honorable Barbara A. Mikulski
  • The Honorable Jim Moran
  • Evan Morris
  • William P. Murphy, Jr., MD
  • Elizabeth Nabel, MD
  • Garry A. Neil, MD
  • David Nicholson, PhD
  • The Honorable Eleanor Holmes Norton
  • Stephen N. Oesterle, MD
  • Herbert Pardes, MD
  • Sudip S. Parikh, PhD
  • The Honorable Ed Pastor
  • The Honorable Nancy Pelosi, House Democratic Leader
  • Kenneth S. Polonsky, MD
  • The Honorable Mark Pryor
  • Jeanne & Sanford Robertson
  • The Honorable John D. Rockefeller IV
  • The Honorable Lucille Roybal-Allard
  • The Honorable Loretta Sanchez
  • Morton O. Schapiro
  • The Honorable Adam B. Schiff
  • The Honorable Aaron Schock
  • The Honorable Charles E. Schumer
  • John R. Seffrin, PhD
  • The Honorable Jeanne Shaheen
  • Larry J. Shapiro, MD
  • Peter Slavin, MD
  • The Honorable Jackie Speier
  • Shari and Garen Staglin
  • Thomas G. Stephens
  • Thomas Strauss
  • Reed V. Tuckson, MD
  • Robert M. Tuttle
  • David Van Andel
  • The Honorable Chris Van Hollen
  • Christopher A. Viehbacher
  • The Honorable John W. Warner
  • A. Eugene Washington, MD, MSc
  • Josh S. Weston
  • Mary Woolley

2011 Advocacy Award Winners and Benefactors

Edwin C. Whitehead Award for Medical Research Advocacy

Co-Benefactors: Whitehead Charitable Foundation and Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research
Pictured: Edwin C. Whitehead

2011 Recipient:

Sen. Richard J. Durbin (D-IL)Senator Richard J. Durbin (D-Illinois) was honored for his longstanding leadership as a champion of medical research, public health and prevention, global health, and research as a force for economic competitiveness.

Isadore Rosenfeld Award for Impact on Public Opinion

Benefactor: Rosenfeld Heart Foundation
Pictured: Isadore Rosenfeld, MD

2011 Recipient:

Charlie RoseCharlie Rose, executive editor and anchor of the “Charlie Rose” show on PBS, was recognized for his in-depth coverage of research issues, including a recent series on science, which has raised the American public’s awareness about scientific research.

Raymond and Beverly Sackler Award for Sustained National Leadership

Benefactors: Raymond R. Sackler, MD, and Beverly Sackler

2011 Recipient:

J. Michael Bishop, MDJ. Michael Bishop, MD, Nobel laureate and University of California, San Francisco chancellor emeritus, was honored for his decades of advocacy for medical research and public education about science.

Paul G. Rogers Distinguished Organization Advocacy Award

Benefactor: Hogan Lovells US LLP

2011 Recipient: 

DVBIC logoThe Defense and Veterans Brain Injury Center (DVBIC) was recognized for its innovative public education and partnerships for traumatic brain injury research.


Gordon and Llura Gund Leadership Award

Benefactors: Gordon and Llura Gund Foundation

2011 Recipient:

Mayor Michael BloombergNew York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg was honored for his national and global influence in promoting public health and prevention research.

Builders of Science Award

Anonymous Benefactor

2011 Recipient:

Dean KamenDean Kamen,

inventor and physicist, was honored for creating private-sector models of innovation leading to such break-through medical devices as the portable insulin pump, portable dialysis machine and a revolutionary

robotic arm for amputees.

2011 Annual Advocacy Award Sponsors

Corporate Sponsor

Pfizer, Inc

 Principal Partner

Johns Hopkins University

Tribute Reception Sponsor


Presenting Partner

Merck & Co., Inc.



UnitedHealth Group

Program Partner

Abbott Laboratories

Johnson & Johnson

Massachusetts General Hospital

Jeanne and Sanford Robertson



Staglin Family Vineyards



Duke University School of Medicine


Alzheimer's Association

American Cancer Society

David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA


New York-Presbyterian Hospital

Simons Foundation

Mary Woolley


Award Benefactors

  • Gordon and Llura Gund Foundation
  • Hogan Lovells US LLP
  • Rosenfeld Heart Foundation
  • Dr. Raymond R. and Beverly Sackler
  • Whitehead Charitable Foundation
  • Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research