Home » Advocacy Awards » Past Advocacy Awards » 2013 Advocacy Awards

2013 Advocacy Awards

John Crowley

2013 Research!America, Advocacy Awards Dinner
March13, 2013, Washington, DC

The annual Research!America Advocacy Awards program was established in 1996 by the board of directors to honor outstanding advocates for medical, health and scientific research. Recognized individuals and organizations are those whose leadership efforts have been notably effective in advancing our nation’s commitment to research.

Honorary Chairs

Click here to see our honorary chairs for the 2013 Advocacy Awards.

Keynote Remarks

Click here to read the keynote remarks by Research!America’s chair, The Honorable John Edward Porter.

Click here to see 2013 Advocacy Awards photos.

2013 Advocacy Award Winners and Benefactors

Edwin C. Whitehead Award for Medical Research Advocacy

Co-Benefactors: Whitehead Charitable Foundation and Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research
Pictured: Edwin C. Whitehead

2013 Recipients:

Sen. Richard Burr (R-NC)Sen. Bob Casey (D-PA)Sen. Richard Burr (R-NC), at left, and Sen. Bob Casey (D-PA), are both strong supporters of federal and private-sector medical research. Both have introduced legislation that aids the research enterprise during their combined 14 years in the Senate. Both are members of the Senate Health, Education, Labor and Pensions (HELP) Committee.

Isadore Rosenfeld Award for Impact on Public Opinion

Benefactor: Rosenfeld Heart Foundation
Pictured: Isadore Rosenfeld, MD

2013 Recipient:

Diane RehmBroadcaster and author Diane Rehm will be presented with the IsadoreRosenfeld Award for Impact on Public Opinion. She is the host of “The Diane Rehm Show,” which is heard on National PublicRadio stations throughoutthe country. Rehm is an honorary director of the National SpasmodicDysphonia Association. For the past several years, she-alongwith her husband, John-has served as co-chair of the Parkinson’sAction Network’s Morris K. UdallAwards Dinner.

Raymond and Beverly Sackler Award for Sustained National Leadership

Benefactors: Raymond R. Sackler, MD, and Beverly Sackler

2013 Recipient:

Mark Rosenberg, MDGlobal health researcher Mark L. Rosenberg, MD, will be presented with the Raymond andBeverly Sackler Award for Sustained National Leadership. He is currently president and CEO of The Task Forcefor Global Health, which performsprogrammatic work in health system strengthening, immunization and vaccines,and neglected tropical diseases. Prior to joining The Task Force, Rosenberg spent 20 years at the Centers for Disease Control andPrevention.

Paul G. Rogers Distinguished Organization Advocacy Award

Benefactor: HoganLovells USLLP

2013 Recipient:

California Institute for Regenerative Medicine

The California Institute for Regenerative Medicine will be presented with the Paul G. RogersDistinguished Organization Advocacy Award. CIRM was established after California voters approved the CaliforniaStem Cell Research and Cures Initiative, which set aside $3 billion for stem cellresearch at institutions throughout the state. Jonathan Thomas,PhD, JD, chairman of CIRM’sIndependent Citizens’ Oversight Committee, will accept the award on behalf ofthe organization.

Gordon and Llura Gund Leadership Award

Benefactors: Gordon and Llura Gund Foundation

2013 Recipient:

John CrowleyBiotech entrepreneur John Crowley will be presented with the Gordon and LluraGund Leadership Award. He is currentlychairman and CEO of AmicusTherapeutics, a biotechnologycompany that focuses on developing drugs to treat human genetic diseases. Thediagnosis of his two youngest children, Megan and Patrick, with Pompe disease inspired Crowley to jointhe biotech sector. He previously held positions with Bristol-Myers Squibb and Orexigen Therapeutics.

Geoffrey Beene Builders of Science Award

Benefactor: The Geoffrey Beene Foundation

2013 Recipient:

John Mendelsohn, MD

Cancer researcher John Mendelsohn, MD, will be presented with the Geoffrey BeeneBuilders of Science Award. During his tenure as president of The Universityof Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center from 1996 to 2011, he oversaw dramatic increases in both size andstature of the institute. Earlier this year, MD Anderson was named the country’stop hospital for cancer care by U.S. News & World Report. He currently serves as the director of the Khalifa Institute forPersonalized Cancer Therapy at MD Anderson.


G. Thompson Hutton and Mara Hutton

G. Thompson Hutton
and Mara Hutton

2013 Advocacy Award Sponsors

Tribute Reception Host

Johnson & Johnson

Grand Reception Host


Presenting Partner

UnitedHealth Group

Program Partner


American Medical Association




Staglin Family Vineyard


Brigham and Women's Hospital

Johns Hopkins University



CQ Roll Call

Duke Medicine


Alzheimer's Association


CDC Foundation / Georgia Research Alliance


University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center

Northeast Ohio Medical University

The Hill

University of California, Los Angeles / University of California, San Francisco

Mary Woolley


Award Benefactors

  • The Geoffrey Beene Foundation
  • Gordon and Llura Gund Foundation
  • Hogan Lovells US LLP
  • Rosenfeld Heart Foundation
  • Dr. Raymond R. and Beverly Sackler
  • Whitehead Charitable Foundation
  • Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research