Home » Press Releases & Statements » Oprah Winfrey and Lester Holt to Join Research!America Awards Program

Oprah Winfrey and Lester Holt to Join Research!America Awards Program

Research!America is pleased to announce that Oprah Winfrey, global media leader, will join Dr. Anthony S. Fauci, director of the National Institute for Allergy and Infectious Diseases and recipient of the 2021 Outstanding Achievement in Public Health Award, for an exclusive conversation at Research!America’s 25th Advocacy Awards broadcast. Award-winning journalist, Lester Holt, Anchor of “NBC Nightly News” and “Dateline NBC,” will join Research!America to open the program and salute the awardees.

During this virtual awards event, which will be broadcast on Thursday, May 13, 2021 from 4:00 -6:00 p.m. ET., Dr. Fauci will sit down with Oprah Winfrey for a conversation about the impact and implications of the COVID-19 crisis and the heroes – those in the public eye and those unsung – who have helped our nation and the global community navigate the pandemic.

“It is a privilege and honor to welcome three of our nation’s most trusted communicators to the 25th anniversary of Research!America’s Advocacy Awards,” said Research!America President and CEO Mary Woolley. “It has never been more appropriate or important to honor individuals, organizations and partnerships contributing to combating COVID-19 and other ruthless health threats that we can — and must — overcome.”

The event, which is open to the public and free of charge, will feature conversations with honoree and tributes by Members of Congress and other national figures. The ceremony will close with a special performance by Renée Fleming, world-renowned Soprano and recipient of the 2020 Isadore Rosenfeld Award for Impact on Public Opinion, and Dr. Francis Collins, Director of National Institutes of Health.

Registration can be found here. The full agenda and list of honorees and special guests can be found here.


Contact Terri Schwartzbeck, Director of Communications, at 703-789-4745 or [email protected] for press inquiries.