Home » Press Releases & Statements » Research!America Elects New Board Members

Research!America Elects New Board Members

Research!America logo

Research!America, a nonprofit alliance that advocates for science, discovery, and innovation to achieve better health for all, has elected nine new members to its board. Each of these individuals has made significant contributions to advancing medical and health research through science, advocacy, and policy. Together, they represent the broad scope of our alliance which includes academia, patient advocacy, industry, and scientific societies. The newly elected board members are:

  • The Honorable Charlie Dent; Executive Director and Vice President, Aspen Institute Congressional Program; Senior Policy Advisor, DLA Piper, LLP ;U.S. Representative, 2005 – 2018
  • Kafui Dzirasa, MD, PhD; K. Rama Krishnan Endowed Associate Professor, Duke University Medical Center
  • Arthur Evans, Jr., PhD; CEO, American Psychological Association
  • Dario Gil, PhD; Senior Vice President and Director, IBM Research
  • Michelle McMurry-Heath, MD, PhD; President and CEO, Biotechnology Innovation Organization (BIO)
  • Jessica Mega, MD, MPH; Co-Founder and Chief Medical and Scientific Officer, Verily Life Sciences
  • Lewis Sandy, MD, FACP; Senior Vice President, Clinical Advancement, UnitedHealth Group
  • The Honorable Donna Shalala; U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services, 1993 – 2001; U.S. Representative, 2019 – 2021
  • Cynthia Zagieboylo; President and CEO, National MS Society

“We are delighted to welcome these outstanding individuals to our board,” said Susan Dentzer, Research!America board chair. “Every one of our new board members is a dedicated advocate for research and for health, and each one strengthens our leadership in a distinctive way.”

“Our terrific new board members will add great value to our alliance as we partner together to advocate for medical and health research and innovation across the country, and build a science strong future” said Research!America President and CEO Mary Woolley.