Home » Advocacy Awards » Past Advocacy Awards » 2007 Advocacy Awards

2007 Advocacy Awards

Research!America 11th Annual Advocacy Awards Gala, March 20, 2007

Corporate Host


Media Sponsor

PARADE magazine

Master of Ceremonies

George Stephanopoulos
Chief Washington Correspondent, ABC News
Anchor, ABC’s “This Week”

“We get more for our money when we invest in health research than any other investment.”-George Stephanopoulos

Gala Co-Chairs

Christopher A. Viehbacher

Mary J.C. Hendrix, PhD
Children’s Memorial Research Center, Chicago

Media Host

Randy Siegel
PARADE magazine

Download our 2007 Advocacy Awards Gala and National Forum Summary, which includes recognition of our 2007 gala sponsors.

2007 Advocacy Award Honorary Chairs

2007 Award Recipients

Edwin C. Whitehead Award for Medical Research Advocacy

Senator Orrin G. Hatch
Award benefactor: Whitehead Charitable Foundation

“You have my word that I will continue to fight for embryonic stem cell research legislation until it’s signed into law.”-Sen. Orrin Hatch

Isadore Rosenfeld Award for Impact on Public Opinion

Mike Wallace
CBS Correspondent Emeritus
Mental Health Research Advocate
Award benefactor: Rosenfeld Heart Foundation

“Depression is not a stigma because of Mike Wallace’s honesty and candor. His passion and credibility have made him a powerful and effective advocate.”-Isadore Rosenfeld, MD

Raymond and Beverly Sackler Award for Sustained National Leadership

David Satcher, MD, PhD
Director, Center of Excellence on Health Disparities and Poussaint-Satcher-Cosby Chair in Mental Health, Morehouse School of Medicine; 16th Surgeon General of the U.S.
Award benefactors: Beverly and Raymond R. Sackler, MD

“I’ve seen America the ugly and America the beautiful. I will never give in to America the ugly, and I will never give up on America the beautiful. One day we will have universal access to health care, solidly funded research and [will] eliminate disparities in health.”-David Satcher

Gordon and Llura Gund Volunteer Leadership Award

Susan Axelrod
President and Founder
Citizens United for Research in Epilepsy (CURE)
Award benefactors: Llura and Gordon Gund

“Epilepsy can rob children of their potential and parents of their dreams and hopes. Twenty-five years after my daughter was diagnosed, it is unacceptable that we still don’t have answers to this age-old problem. We will continue this fight.”-Susan Axelrod

Paul G. Rogers Distinguish Advocacy Organization Award

Coalition for the Advancement of Medical Research
Sean Tipton
Award benefactor: Hogan & Hartson LLP

“We have a lot of work left to do to fund embryonic stem cell research. We won’t rest until it’s funded and we can ensure every American has a fighting chance at the quality of life we all deserve.”-Sean Tipton

Builders of Science Award

University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas
Michael Brown, MD, and Joseph Goldstein, MD, Nobel Laureates in Physiology or Medicine
Donald W. Seldin, MD, Chair in Internal Medicine

“Institutions are important to science and research. There’s no replacement for driven individuals, but they must be encased in an environment that is supportive, engaging and interactive.” -Donald W. Seldin, MD

The annual Research!America Advocacy Awards program was established in 1996 by the board of directors to honor outstanding advocates for medical, health and scientific research. Recognized individuals and organizations are those whose leadership efforts have been notably effective in advancing our nation’s commitment to research.

Download our 2007 Advocacy Awards Gala and National Forum Summary.

Contact us information about advocacy awards prior to 2003.