Home » Advocacy Awards » Past Advocacy Awards » 2008 Advocacy Awards

2008 Advocacy Awards

Research!America’s 12th Annual Advocacy Awards Gala

Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium

The annual Research!America Advocacy Awards program was established in 1996 by the board of directors to honor outstanding advocates for medical, health and scientific research. Recognized individuals and organizations are those whose leadership efforts have been notably effective in advancing our nation’s commitment to research.

Download our 2008 Advocacy Awards Gala and National Forum Summary.

Read opening remarks from our board Chair The Honorable John Edward Porter.

Corporate Host


Media Sponsor


Grand Reception Sponsor

Gala Co-Chairs

Joseph M. Feczko, MD
Chief Medical Officer, Pfizer Inc

Dennis A. Ausiello, MD
Physician-in-Chief, Medical Service
Massachusetts General Hospital/Partners Healthcare System Inc

Media Host

Randy Siegel
Publisher, PARADE magazine

Our 2008 Honorary Chairs

Research!America’s 2008 Advocacy Award Recipients

Edwin C. Whitehead Award for Medical Research Advocacy
The Honorable Edward M. Kennedy
United States Senator, Massachusetts
Porter, Whitehead
The Honorable John Edward Porter, Susan Whitehead
Isadore Rosenfeld Award for Impact on Public Opinion
The Honorable Arnold Schwarzenegger
Governor of California

Isadore Rosenfeld, MD; George Vradenburg
Raymond and Beverly Sackler Award for Sustained National Leadership
William H. Foege, MD, MPH Public and Global Health Research Advocate
Former CDC Director; Senior Fellow, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
Presidential Distinguished Professor, Emory University Rollins School of Public Health

Joe Feczko, MD; Michael Madnick
Gordon and Llura Gund Leadership Award
Pat Furlong
Founding President and Chief Executive Officer
Parent Project Muscular Dystrophy

Pat Furlong, Randy Siegel

Paul G. Rogers Distinguished Organization Advocacy Award
Benefactor: Hogan & Hartson LLP

AmfAR, The Foundation for AIDS Research
Mathilde Krim, PhD, Founding Chairman
Kenneth Cole, Chairman

The Honorable Paul G. Rogers; Mathilde Krim, PhD;
M. Cass Wheeler
Builders of Science Award
Richard A. Lerner, MD
President, The Scripps Research Institute

Richard A. Lerner, MD; Dennis A. Ausiello, MD

Program Partners

Patrons of the Gala

  • Johnson & Johnson
  • Merck & Co., Inc.
  • sanofi-aventis

Contributors to the Gala

  • American Cancer Society
  • Baxter International
  • Schering-Plough
  • Quintiles Transnational Corp.

Sponsors of the Gala

  • Alnylam Pharmaceuticals
  • Alzheimer’s Association
  • American Heart Association
  • AstraZeneca
  • David & Denise Bunning The Food Allergy Project, Inc.
  • Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America
  • TEVA Pharmaceuticals
  • Wyeth

Friends of the Gala

  • AARP
  • Association of American Medical Colleges
  • amfAR, The Foundation for AIDS Research
  • Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology/
  • National Alliance for Eye and Vision Research
  • Baylor College of Medicine Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
  • B&D Consulting
  • Brigham & Women’s Hospital
  • Brooks Street
  • Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
  • David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
  • Duke University Medical Center
  • Emory University
  • Evan & Cindy Jones Foundation
  • Harvard Medical School
  • Mary J.C. Hendrix, PhD
  • Loyola University Medical Center
  • Parent Project Muscular Dystrophy
  • PTC Therapeutics
  • The Scripps Research Institute
  • Squire, Sanders & Dempsey, LLP
  • Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine
  • Weill Medical College of Cornell University

Download our 2008 Advocacy Awards Gala and National Forum Summary.

Contact us information about advocacy awards prior to 2003.