Home » Press Releases & Statements » Research!America Announces New Board Members

Research!America Announces New Board Members

Research!America logo

Research!America, a nonprofit alliance that advocates for science, discovery, and innovation to achieve better health for all, has elected four new members to its Board of Directors.

Each of these individuals has made significant contributions to advancing medical and health research through science, advocacy, and policy. Together, they represent the broad scope of our alliance which includes academia, patient advocacy, industry, and scientific societies.

The newly elected board members are:

  • Deborah Deas, MD, MPH, Dean of the School of Medicine and Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences, University of California, Riverside
  • Karen E. Knudsen, PhD, CEO of American Cancer Society
  • David Reese, MD, Executive Vice President of Research and Development, Amgen
  • Keith R. Yamamoto, PhD, Professor Emeritus, Vice Chancellor for Science Policy and Strategy, and Director of UCSF Precision Medicine, University of California San Francisco

“We are excited to welcome four exceptional individuals to our Board,” said Sudip Parikh, PhD, Research!America Board chair. “Each of our newly appointed Board members is a highly committed and enthusiastic advocate for research, bringing their vast experience and knowledge to the table. Their expertise makes us more capable of achieving our goals and advancing our mission.”

“As we collaborate to champion medical and public health research and innovation throughout the nation, our alliance will benefit greatly from the contributions of our new Board members,” said Mary Woolley, Research!America president and CEO. “Their leadership and insights will add significant value to our efforts as we work towards building a science strong future.”

Contact Tim Haynes, Senior Director of Communications, at 571-482-2737 or thaynes@researchamerica.org with press inquiries.