Home » Advocacy Awards » 2024 Advocacy Awards

The Research!America 2024 Advocacy Awards were held in person on March 13 at the National Academy of Sciences in Washington, DC.

This event brought together the breadth of the research & development ecosystem – very much including patients – to honor truly inspiring leaders. Our honorees participated in two candid, fast-paced, and insight-filled panel discussions, one on the state of science in America and the second on the vital ways U.S. and global health intersect. Lori Weiss, a patient advocate from the Alzheimer’s Association, demonstrated courage and commitment in talking about her own experience with Alzheimer’s, from helping her grandfather to her own diagnosis and participation in a clinical trial. She reminded us why advocacy matters, a fitting motif for the evening.

Thank you to everyone who attended and to our many sponsors and benefactors who made the evening possible.

2024 Honorees

Our 2024 Advocacy Awards honorees include outstanding advocates for medical and health research and individuals, entities, or partnerships demonstrating commitment to research through discovery, innovation, public communications, and leadership.

Edwin C. Whitehead Award for Medical Research Advocacy

The Honorable Patty Murray
U.S. Senate (D-WA)

The Honorable Bill Cassidy, MD
U.S. Senate (R-LA)

John Edward Porter Legacy Award,
generously supported by Ann Lurie

The Honorable Michael N. Castle
Chair Emeritus, Research!America
Governor of Delaware, 1985-1992
U.S. Representative, 1993-2011

Builders of Science Award

Rita R. Colwell, PhD
Distinguished University Professor, University of Maryland, College Park

Herbert Pardes Family Award for National Leadership in Advocacy for Research

Norman R. Augustine
Retired Chairman & CEO, Lockheed Martin Corp.,
Former Undersecretary of the Army

Gordon and Llura Gund Leadership Award

Robert W. Conn, PhD
Distinguished Policy Fellow, School of Global Policy and Strategy, UC San Diego
President and CEO, Emeritus, The Kavli Foundation

Paul G. Rogers Distinguished Organization Advocacy Award

Alzheimer’s Association

Isadore Rosenfeld Award for Impact on Public Opinion

Abraham C. Verghese MD, MACP
Author; Linda R. Meier and Joan F. Lane Provostial Professor
Vice Chair for the Theory and Practice of Medicine
Department of Medicine, Stanford University

Outstanding Achievement in Public Health Awards,
generously supported by Johnson & Johnson

Outstanding Achievement in Public Health Award

Rajiv J. Shah, MD
President, The Rockefeller Foundation

Building the Foundation Award

Jason S. McLellan, PhD
Professor, Robert A. Welch Chair in Chemistry, Dept. of Molecular Biosciences, UT Austin

Meeting the Moment for Public Health Award

Celine Gounder, MD, ScM
Senior Fellow and Editor-at-Large for Public Health, KFF Health News

Rapid Translation Award

Gavi, The Vaccine Alliance

Thank you to our sponsors and benefactors!

Research!America’s Advocacy Awards

For information about sponsorship opportunities for the Advocacy Awards, please contact Katie Goode, Senior Director, Alliance Development and Membership at kgoode@researchamerica.org.