Home » Advocacy Awards » 2023 Advocacy Awards

2023 Honorees

John Edward Porter Legacy Award, generously supported by Ann Lurie

Lawrence Tabak, DDS, PhD
Lawrence Tabak, DDS, PhD
Senior Official Performing the Duties of the NIH Director

Geoffrey Beene Foundation Builders of Science Award

Helene Gayle, MD, MPH
President of Spelman College

Herbert Pardes Family Award for National Leadership in Advocacy for Research

Pamela B. Davis, MD, PhD
Arline H. & Curtis F. Garvin Research Professor; Professor, Center for Community Health Integration,
Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine

Gordon and Llura Gund Leadership Award

Heywood Fralin
Chairman, Retirement Unlimited, Inc.
Michael J. Friedlander, PhD
Vice President, Health Sciences and Technology, Virginia Tech;
Executive Director, Fralin Biomedical Research Institute at VTC

Paul G. Rogers Distinguished Organization Advocacy Award

The Michael J. Fox Foundation
for Parkinson’s Research

Isadore Rosenfeld Award for Impact on Public Opinion

Hiding in Plain Sight,
A film by Erik Ewers and Christopher Loren Ewers
(Ken Burns, Erik Ewers, Christopher Loren Ewers, Julie Coffman, David Blistein)

Outstanding Achievement in Public Health Awards, generously supported by Johnson & Johnson

Outstanding Achievement in Public Health Award

Margaret A. Hamburg, MD
Former FDA Commissioner; President, InterAcademy Partnership for Science, Health and Policy;
Academies of Science and Health

Building the Foundation Award

James E. Crowe Jr., MD
Director, Vaccine Center; Ann Scott Carell Prof. of Pediatrics, Pathology, Microbiology & Immunology,
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Meeting the Moment for Public Health Award

Hip Hop Public Health

Rapid Translation Award

Noubar Afeyan, PhD
Founder and CEO,
Flagship Pioneering

Advocacy Award Benefactors

Research!America’s Advocacy Awards

For information about sponsorship opportunities for the Advocacy Awards, please contact Katie Goode, Senior Director, Alliance Development and Membership at kgoode@researchamerica.org.